Chico O'Farrill

The Complete Norman Granz Recordings (2 CD set)

Lone Hill Jazz

Charlie Parker, Flip Phillips, Mario Bauza, Roy Eldridge, Harry Edison, Billy Bauer, Ralph Burns, Buddy Rich, Chino Pozo, Candido Camero, Machito.

Reference: LHJ10172_2

The Complete Anthology of Chico O'Farrill's Norman Granz Recordings
Including 10 Complete Studio Sessions On Two CDs!
157 Minutes of Groundbreaking Latin Jazz!

On December 21, 1950, the inimitable composer and arranger Chico OFarrill went into a New York studio with producer and impresario Norman Granz, to record what would become the most influential and revolutionary work in Latin Jazz, the heralded Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite. This date marked the first studio session devoted entirely to OFarrills music, and foreshadowed what would become the most important body of Latin Jazz music ever recorded. From the December 21, 1950 recording of the Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite to the April 16, 1954 session at Radio Recorders in Hollywood, Chico OFarrill recorded ten separate studio dates with Norman Granz yielding a total of 44 tracks and two complete suites. Although there was a previous attempt at capturing all of his recordings for Granz on one anthology, the release was incomplete. With the addition of the track Muñequita Linda by María Mendez Grever this compilation marks the first edition to contain Chico O'Farrill's complete Norman Granz recordings.


CD 1
01. Avocadoes
02. Taboo
03. JATP Mambo
04. Duerme
05. Almendra
06. The Disappearance
07. Cuban Blues
08. Sin Titulo
09. Dance One
10. Bright One
11. Flamingo
12. Last One
13. Tierra Va Tembla
14. Vamos Pa La Rumba
15. Mambo Korula
16. Frizilandia
17. Peanut Vendor
18. Ill Wind (You're Blowin' Me No Good)
19. Malaguena
20. Castigala
21. The Second Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite
22. Muñequita Linda

CD 2
01. Havana Special
02. Carioca
03. Fiesta Time
04. Heat Wave
05. It Ain't Necessarily So
06. Guess What
07. Cry Baby Blues
08. Lamento
09. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
10. Cachita
11. Rumbonsito
12. Te Quiero Dijiste
13. Siboney
14. Angels' Flight
15. Tres Palabras
16. No Te Importe Saber
17. Vaya Con Dios
18. Pianarabatibiri
19. L.A. Mambo
20. Quireme Mucho
21. More Mambo
22. Mambo For Bunto
23. Botellero
24. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite

Album details

Recorded in Hollywood, 1950-1954

The first recordings of original material I did for Norman Granz were written in a few days, under tight deadlines. Recording sessions took place on Mondays, and Id start writing on a Wednesday or Thursday of the week before, writing and arranging the pieces in three or four days. Emile Charlop was the copyist, turning out charts for twelve musicians, and he used to tell me, Chico, you gotta slow up.
Chico O'Farrill.

19,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Norman Granz Recordings (2 CD set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.