Bob Merrill

The Complete Recordings: 1943-1961

Blue Moon Blues Series

Orchestras of Jay McShann, Dallas Bartley, Cootie Williams and Bob Merrell with Paul Quinichette, Ike Quebec, Count Hastings, Gus Johnson

Reference: BMCD 6041


During the heyday of R'n'B, men and women who could shout the blues with a strong and powerful voice, were very much in demand. Certain instrumentalists stood up and sang ballads and blues in front of the then populr small combos - Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson or Oran "Hot Lips" Page come to mind instantly.
Bob "Mr. Blues" Merrill (surname Merrell) was a singing trumpet man in that vein.

All the informations about recording dates and personnel are included in the booklet.

1. Wrong Neighborhood
2. Cherry Red
3. We Gonna Pitch a Boogie Woogie
4. You're the One for me, Sweetheart
5. Stingy Blues
6. Wrong Neighborhood
7. Piney Brown's Gone
8. I May be Easy but I'm not Fool (master)
9. I May be Easy but I'm not Fool (alt. take)
10. Ain't Got no Blues Today
11. Bring 'em Down Front
12. You took my woman
13. Blues without Booze
14. Inflation Blues
15. Ooh La La
16. Save the Bones for Henry Jones
17. I Shoulda Been Thinkin' instead of Drinkin'
18. I'll always be in Love with You
19. Baby I'm Tired
20. I Want a Little Girl
21. Let 'Em Roll
22. Low Down Groove
23. The Blues is Here T'nite
24. I'm Gonna Let You Free

Album details

Track #1: Jay McShann & His Orchestra
Tracks #2-3: Dallas Bartley & His Orchestra
Tracks #4-11, 14-17, 21: Cootie Williams & His Orchestra

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Recordings: 1943-1961
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.