Alan Ferber

The Compass

Fresh Sound New Talent

Alan Ferber (tb), David Smith (tp), Will Vinson (as, ss), John Ellis (ts), Douglas Yates (b-cl), Bruce Saunders (g), Bryn Roberts (p), Alexis Cuadrado (b), Mark Ferber (d), Pete Rende (synth)

Reference: FSNT-284

Bar code: 8427328422840

Since recording my previous nonet CD (FSNT-223 Scenes From An Exit Row), Ive had the good fortune of keeping the same band and developing a deeper musical rapport through steady gigs at the Greenwich Village, Smalls. Despite hitting a few reefs and rocks along the way (part of my trombone was inadvertently bent in half one night at Smalls), the band has clearly pointed itself in the right direction, inspiring me to write and arrange a wider breadth of material. This title track, in addition to the rest of the CD, superbly reflect the bands growing maturity through increasingly subtle interaction and communication, unabashedly personal improvisations, a more unique ensemble sound, and an intense, yet focused, energy. There is no doubt that, as a bandleader, Ill continue to adjust my own compass in pursuit of exploring evermore directions for the nonet.

-Alan Ferber

1. The Compass (9:57)
2. Luteous Pangolin (6:34)
3. Lucky's Number (8:26)
4. Angel's Landing (15:53)
5. The Razor's Edge (7:56)
6. North Rampart (8:40)
7. Sundown (6:52)

Album details

Recorded, mixed, edited and mastered by Paul Wickliffe on May 30 & 31, 2006 at Charlestown Road Studio, Hampton, NJ. Mixed and mastered at Skyline Productions, Warren, NJ.

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Compass
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.