Shock Treatment (2 LP on 2 CD)
  • Contemporary C5001
    Contemporary C5001
  • Contemporary C5003
    Contemporary C5003

Mel Henke

Shock Treatment (2 LP on 2 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Mel Henke (p), Bill Newman (g), Bob Reed (b), Lou Singer, Shelly Manne, Sammy Weiss (d)

Reference: FSRCD 529

Bar code: 8427328605298


About the things I play: I'd say my treatment of tunes should be classed as repertoire rather than a particular jazz style. This is probably due to the fact that years ago when I first started to play jazz, I would imitate various jazz greats such as Earl Hines, Tatum, and Cleo Brown. (She was the first musician I'd ever heard who played eight-beat piano.) With imitation we can come close but we never really achieve what we try to achieve by imitation, at least I didn't. So I started to develop each tune as an individual composition rather than trying to play every tune in the same style. I had the best luck with this kind of approach, and now I have a repertoire built up over twenty years Incidentally, I usually write the piano parts out note for note even though when I play I never work from the music. This is a kick I got on years ago. I think we get the sound we do because a lot of our stuff is worked out carefully. It isn't what you'd call free improvisation.

—Mel Henke, 1956

CD 1
01. Dream A Little Dream Of Me (Kahn-Schwendt) 3:42
02. I Can't Give You Anything But Love (McHugh-Fields) 3:03
03. Sentimental Journey (Brown-Green) 2:32
04. Frankie & Johnny (Traditional) 3:43
05. Where Or When (Rodgers-Hart) 5:00
06. Sleepy Time Down South (Renee-Muse) 4:50
07. The Man I Love (G. & I. Gershwin) 5:48
08. Ain't Misbehavin' (Waller-Razaf) 3:15
09. Kammenoi Ostrow (Anton Rubinstein) 3:52
10. Four Deuces (Alex North) 2:57
11. Nola (Felix Arndt) 3:32
12. Liza (G. & I. Gershwin) 3:25

CD 2
01. In A Little Spanish Town (Wayne-Lewis-Young) 3:33
02. Little Rock Getaway (Joe Sullivan) 2:19
03. Mean To Me (Turk-Ahlert) 3:27
04. Toccata (Pietro Domenico Paradies) 2:25
05. Stardust (Carmichael-Parish) 3:34
06. Turkey In The Straw (Traditional) 1:29
07. Shock Treatment (Mel Henke) 2:21
08. Pennies From Heaven (Johnston-Burke) 2:26
09. Tea For Two (Youmans-Caesar) 3:40
10. I Surrender Dear (Barris-Clifford) 4:25
11. Cocky Coo-Coo Clock (Mel Henke) 2:27
12. In A Mist (BIx Beiderbecke) 4:25
13. Frenzied Flight (Mel Henke) 3:04

Album details

CD 1, from the 12-inch album "Dig Mel Henke" (Contemporary C5001)
CD 2, from the 12-inch album "Now Spin This! Mel Henke, Vol.2" (Contemporary C5003)

Personnel on "Dig Mel Henke":
Mel Henke (piano), Bill Newman (guitar), Bob Reed (bass), Lou Singer (drums).
Recorded in Hollywood, November 15 & 19, 1954

Personnel on "Now Spin This!":
Mel Henke (piano), Bill Newman (guitar), Bob Reed (bass), Shelly Manne (drums), or Sammy Weiss (drums on #4,5,9).
Recorded in Hollywood, October 4, 5 & 10, 1955

Sound engineer: John Palladino
Recording supervisor: Roy DuNann
Photography: Alex de Paola, Tommy Mitchell & Pauline Annon
Cover design: Robert Guidi (Tri-Arts)
Liner notes: Mel Henke

Sessions originally produced by Lester Koenig
This compilation produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Mono · Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Shock Treatment (2 LP on 2 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.