Johnny Alston – Cal Lucas – Sylvester Scott – Ollie Jackson

Juke Box R&B: The Complete Recordings of

Blue Moon Blues Series

William ‘Brother’ Woodman, King Fleming, Wilbert Baranco, Buddy Harper, Addison Farmer, George Vann, Al ‘Cake’ Wichard, Oscar Lee Bradley

Reference: BMCD 6049


This collection of classic small combo Rhythm n Blues music from the 1940s, titles Juke Box R&B, is not only referring to its name styled after the fact that the music was highly danceable and was indeed often played on the record machines called juke box, but also to the label name, an early precedor of Art Rupes famous Speciality imprint. Not at all of the music here comes from the records produced by Juke Box label that featured artists such as the ones on this CD: Ollie Jackson, Cal Lucas and Sylvester Scott, but also from companies like Atlas and Modern. Like many of his colleagues,, Johnny Alstons unit was in the same league of merely underrated small combos in Los Angeles music scene of the 1940s, its centers on Central Avenue.

Johnny Alston Orchestra
1. Everything Will Beall Right (De Metz) 2:36
2. Brooklyn Jump (Taub) 2:58
3. Ecstacy (Blue Nocturne) (Alston) 3:06
4. Mr. Fine (M.La Mayes) 3:11
5. Red Light (R.Callender) 2:59
6. Weary Blues (Alston-De Metz) 2:30
7. I Found A New Baby (DR) 2:46
8. Sam The Boogie Man (R.Scherman) 2:41
9. Careless Love (DR) 2:53

Cal Luca and His Orchestra
10. Tiddle De Winks (Harris) 3:03
11. Shanghai Stomp (Lucas) 3:05
12. Brother Put Her Down (Harris) 3:00
13. How Long Has This Been Going On (Lucas) 2:45
14. Left With The Blues (Bryan) 3:08
15. Blow Top Re Bop (Bryan) 2:52

Sylvester Scott and His Orchestra
16. I'M Gonna Take The U Car (Harper-Bocage) 3:00
17. It's The Truth From My Heart (Harpe-Scott-Vann-Davis) 3:01
18. You're a Glorious Sight (Red Mack) 3:06
19. Jack Of Diamond Boogie (Scott) 2:51
20. Time Of Day Blues (Hall-Raymond) 3:00
21. Going Home Blues (Hall-Raymond) 2:52

Ollie Jackson and His Band
22. Fat Boogie Woogie (O.Jackson) 3:00
23. Loved And Lost (E.J.Hall) 3:10
24. Baby Got To Have It (O.Jackson) 3:05
25. You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone (O.Jackson) 3:07

Album details

Recorded in Los Angeles 1945-1946

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Juke Box R&B: The Complete Recordings of
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.