Jack McVea - Rabon Tarrant

The Complete 1944-1952: Volume 2 (1945-1946)

Blue Moon Blues Series

Russell Jacquet, Teddy Buckner, Sammy Yates, Marshall Royal, Lucky Thompson, Bob Mosely, Crow Kahn, Gene Phillips, Charles Mingus, Frank Clarke, Lee Young

Reference: BMCD 6032


JACK McVEA is not a household name; he was a very important figure in the beginning of the Rhythm & Blues style. He played baritone saxophone in the Lionel Hampton Orchestra in 1942 when the band recorded "Flying Home", considered to be a foundation of '40s black music. He led one of the West Coast's earliest R&B combos and backed up important artists such as T-Bone Walker and Wynonie Harris. McVea's own "Open The Door, Richard!" created one of the biggest crazes ever to come out of black music in the pre-Rock'n'Roll era. He blew tenor sax alongside Illinois Jacquet at the first 'Jazz At The Philharmonic' in 1944, and he jammed and recorded with Slim Gaillard and Charlie Parker.
For the first time ever, the full body of Jack McVea's (and Rabon Tarrant's) recorded works from 1944 to 1952 are being re-issued on four CD volumes. The discography has been reworked especially for this release and 4 tracks could be added that weren't even known to exist before. The music is good humoured, carried out brilliantly and above all, heavily swinging.

1. Listen Baby Blues
2. Dont Blame Me
3. Dont Blame Me
4. Ooh Mop
5. Bartender Boogie
6. Wine-O
7. Frisco Blues
8. Ill Be True
9. Hey Hey Hey Baby
10. Blues This Morning
11. Love Will Get You Down
12. Opus Boogie
13. Play It Over
14. House Party Boogie
15. My Business Is C.O.D.
16. Baby Make Up Your Mind
17. Jacks Boogie
18. F Minor Boogie
19. Jam Boogie
20. Frantic Boogie

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete 1944-1952: Volume 2 (1945-1946)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.