The Cannonball Adderley Quintet At The Lighthouse (+ Bonus Tracks)
  • Adderley Brothers
    Adderley Brothers
  • Riverside RLP12-344
    Riverside RLP12-344

Cannonball Adderley

The Cannonball Adderley Quintet At The Lighthouse (+ Bonus Tracks)

Essential Jazz Classics

Cannonball Adderley (as), Nat Adderley (cnt), Victor Feldman (p), Sam Jones (b), Louis Hayes (d)

Reference: EJC55486

Bar code: 8436028696604

The complete original 1960 album At the Lighthouse a splendid date by the 1960 Cannonball Adderley Quintet. In addition to Cannonball, the band features his brother Nat and pianist Victor Feldman performing live at the Lighthouse, in California.

Three tunes by the same group from a concert in Monterey a few days earlier have been added here as a bonus.

At the Lighthouse was Cannonballs second live album recorded at a club in front of an audience but with professional equipment with the intention of producing an album. Cannonballs first highly successful live effort was The Cannonball Adderley Quintet in San Francisco, which marked Adderley and Bobby Timmons first collaborative recording.


01. Sack O'Woe 10:45
02. Big P 5:55
03. Blue Daniel 7:31
04. Azule Serape 9:29
05. Exodus 7:40
06. What Is This Thing Called Love 4:48
07. Our Delight 6:54
08. Blue Daniel 7:15 *
09. The Old Country 6:16 *
10. Dis Here 8:45 *

Album details

Total time: 75:17 min.

Tracks #1-7, from the 12" album
"At the Lighthouse" (Riverside RLP 12-344)

(*) Bonus tracks not on the original album

Personnel in all tracks:
Julian 'Cannonball' Adderley (alto sax), Nat Adderley (cornet), Victor Feldman (piano), Sam Jones (bass), and Louis Hayes (drums).
Recorded live at The Lighthouse Club, Hermosa Beach, California, on October 16, 1960.

Bonus Tracks: same personnel, at the Monterey Jazz Festival, California, September 24, 1960.

Sessions produced by Orrin Keepnews
Recording engineer: Wally Heider
Art direction: Phil Carroll

Press reviews

"This is a fine all-around set from the Cannonball Adderley Quintet of 1960 with the altoist/leader, cornetist Nat Adderley, pianist Victor Feldman, bassist Sam Jones and drummer Louis Hayes. The fifth of seven LPs reissued by Orrin Keepnews and taken from Adderley's Riverside years finds his band in top form on the original version of "Sack O' Woe," a previously unissued "Our Delight," Jimmy Heath's "Big 'P'" and "Blue Daniel" among others. It's a strong introduction to the music of this classic hard bop group."

Scott Yanow (All Music Guide)


11,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Cannonball Adderley Quintet At The Lighthouse (+ Bonus Tracks)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.