Modern Jazz Quartet

Complete 1951-1953 Studio Sessions

Definitive Records

Milt Jackson (vib), John Lewis (p), Ray Brown, Percy Heath (b), Kenny Clarke, Al Jones (d)

Reference: DRCD 11238

Bar code: 8436006492389

This Definitive edition gathers the first recordings by the Modern jazz Quartet between 1951-1953, at a time when the group was still primarily known as Milt Jackson's Quartet. Some of these sessions represent the first officially issues of the original MJQ with drummer Kenny Clarke replaced two years later by Connie Kay.


01. Milt Meets Sid
02. D & E
03. Yesterdays
04. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
05. Autumn Breeze
06. Bluesology
07. Round About Midnight
08. Moving Nicely
09. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
10. Love Me Pretty Baby
11. Heart and Soul
12. True Blues
13. All the Things You Are
14. La Ronde
15. Vendôme
16. Rose of the Rio Grande
17. The Queen's Fancy
18. Delaunya's Dilemna
19. Autumn in New York
20. But Not For Me


12,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete 1951-1953 Studio Sessions
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.