Louis Armstrong

Complete New York Town Hall & Boston Symphony Hall Concerts (3-CD)

Definitive Records

Louis Armstrong and His All Stars, Bobby Hackett (cnt), Jack Teagarden (tb, vcl), Peanuts Hucko (cl, ts), Dick Cary (p), Bob Haggart (b), Sidney Catlett (d).

Reference: DRCD 11291

For the first time grouped in a single box set, these recordings includes the two legendary All Stars concerts held at New York's Town Hall and Boston's Symphony Hall in May and November, with three previously unpublished in CD issues: 'I Cried for You,' 'That's My Desire,' and 'How High the Moon.' Presenting the first version of the famous All Stars unit, with Bobby Hackett on cornet, Jack Teagarden on trombone and vocal, Peanuts Hucko or Barney Bigard on clarinet, Dick Cary on piano, Bob Haggart or Arvell Shaw on bass, and Sidney Catlett on drums. Also we have included a number of bonus tracks recorded at the same year: a New York's Winter Garden Theater radio broadcast with the Armstrong's All Stars coinciding with the Big Apple premiere of the film 'New Orleans' three highlights from a Carnegie Hall appearance organized by Leonard Feather for generate publicity for 'New Orleans' movie, with a very special guest star Billie Holiday two V Discs recorded with an atypical All Stars including the accordionist Roy Ross and finally, the delightful central musical number of the Howard Hawks' legendary film 'A Star Is Born' featuring Tommy Dorsey, Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton, Mel Powell, Louie Bellson, the Golden Gate Quartet and others. Masterworks by a decisive year in the evolution of jazz, marked by three important tendencies: the definitive crisis of the big band model from the Swing era, the consolidation of the Bop idiom developed by Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie and other young lions, and the revival of New Orleans style jazz.


CD 1
1. Cornet Chop Suey
2. Our Monday Date
3. Dear Old Southland
4. Big Butter and Egg Man
5. Tiger Rag
6. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
7. Sweethearts On Parade
8. St. Louis Blues
9. Pennies From Heaven
10. On The Sunny Side of the Street
11. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
12. Back O'Town Blues
13. Ain't Misbehavin'
14. Rockin' Chair
15. Muskrat Ramble
16. Save It, Pretty Mama
17. Saint James Infirmary
18. Royal Garden Blues
19. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
20. Jack-Armstrong Blues

CD 2
1. Muskrat Ramble
2. Black and Blue
3. Royal Garden Blues
4. Lover
5. Stars Fell On Alabama
6. Since I Fell For You
7. Tea For Two
8. Body and Soul
9. Steak Face
10. Mahogany Hall Stomp
11. On The Sunny Side of the Street
12. High Society
13. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
14. C-Jam Blues
15. Boff Boff

CD 3
1. I Cried For You
2. That's My Desire
3. How High the Moon
4. Introduction*
5. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans*
6. Basin Street Blues*
7. Muskrat Ramble*
8. Dear Old Southland*
9. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans*
10. Someday Youll Be Sorry*
11. Tiger Rag*
12. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans*
13. Old Rockin' Chair*
14. Black and Blue*
15. Ain't Misbehavin'*
16. Reminiscin' with Louis/High Society*
17. A Song Was Born*

CD 1: Louis Armstrong and His All Stars: Bobby Hackett (co), Jack Teagarden (tb,vcl), Peanuts Hucko (cl,ts), Bob Haggart (b), Sidney Catlett (d). Town Hall, NYC, May 17, 1947

CD 2 & 3 (1-3): Louis Armstrong and His All Stars: Jack Teagarden (tb,vcl), Barney Bigard (cl), Dick Cary (p), Arvel Shaw (b), Sidney Catlett (d), Velma Middleton (vcl). Symphony Hall, Boston, November 30, 1947


29,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete New York Town Hall & Boston Symphony Hall Concerts (3-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.