Johnny Hartman

Complete Regent Recordings

Jazz Factory

Johnny Hartman (vcl), Dizzie Gillespie, Jimmy Nottingham (tp), Budd Johnson (ts, ss), Errol Garner, Andrew Hill (p), Bobby Tucker (b), Cozy Cole (d)

Reference: JFCD22829

Bar code: 8436006498299

Hartman is best known for his recordings with John Coltrane in 1963. But he recorded too with many other great jazz luminaries of his day, and much of that work appears on this compilation. The CD features Hartman crooning with an astonishing array of musicians: Dizzie Gillespie, Perez Prado, Budd Johnson, Errol Garner,Cozy Cole, Jimmy Nottingham, Tony Farina, and Bobby Tucker, to name a few.

The CD includes material recorded in 1947 through 1954, plus some bonus tracks recorded live in 1961 with the Andrew Hill Trio. Hartman, a master at interpreting the inner life of a ballad, comes through soft and clear on standards such as "That Old Black Magic," "I Let a Song Go out of My Heart," "I'll Never Smile Again," "Just You, Just Me," "September in the Rain," "Stella by Starlight," and "Somebody Loves Me." The amorous and sophisticated tone of the entire set is polished off with the final selection, "Misty," which expresses how the listener might feel after hearing so many songs of romance and seduction.

01. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
02. Why Was I Born?
03. Just You, Just Me
04. A Woman Always Understands
05. Sometime Remind Me to Tell You
06. There Goes My Heart
07. Just a Wearying For You
08. I'll Never Smile Again
09. Why Must I Be Tormented?
10. What's To Become of Me?
11. I Should Care
12. That Old Black Magic
13. If Love is Trouble
14. Close Your Eyes
15. S'Posin'
16. Goodbye
17. September in the Rain
18. Remember
19. Out of the Night
20. Worry Bird
21. Wheel of Fortune
22. Wild
23. Black Shadows
24. I Feel Like Crying
25. Stella by Starlight *
26. Somebody Loves Me *
27. Misty *

Total time: 77:48 min.

(*) Live bonus tracks

"Hartman, a master at interpreting the inner life of a ballad, recorded with many great jazz luminaries of his day, and much of that work appears on this compilation."

Rose of Sharon Witmer -All Music Guide


12,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete Regent Recordings
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.