Charlie Shavers & Ray Bryant

Complete Recordings Vol.2

Lone Hill Jazz

Charlie Shavers (tp), Roy Burns (p), Tommy Bryant or Aaron Bell (b), Ray Bryant (d)

Reference: LHJ10183

- Memorial (complete LP)
- Here Comes Charlie (complete LP)
- At Le Crazy Horse Saloon (3 tracks)

Sublime work from trumpeter Charlie Shavers -- a player with a wonderful tone, and a clear, straightforward sound that was often sadly overlooked! The CD brings together the full tracks from 2 albums that Shavers recorded with pianist Ray Bryant -- Memorial, from 1959, and Here Comes Charlie, from 1960 -- both of them well-crafted sets that are a great example of Shaver's understated genius. The rhythms on both records are surprisingly complex -- thanks to free drum work on the kit from Roy Burns, modern bass tones from Aaron Bell, and always-soulful work on piano from Ray Bryant -- and if we had to pick one album as our favorite, we'd say that we're especially flored by the Here Comes Charlie set -- as it goves far beyond even our already high opinion of Shaver's talents.


01. Girl of My dreams
02. September in the Rain
03. What can I say After I say I'm Sorry
04. Lover
05. I'll Get By
06. Out of Nowhere
07. Dream
08. Bye Bye Blackbird
09. Pennies from Heaven
10. Frenesi
11. Green Eyes
12. Let's fall in Love
13. All of Me
14. Makin' Whoopee
15. Russian Lullaby
16. Taboo
17. You've changed
18. It's all Right with Me
19. Loch Lomond
20. I Want a Little Girl
21. What is this Thing Called Love?
22. On the Alamo
23. Undecided
24. All of You
25. Please don't Talk about Me When I'm Gone
26. I've got the World on a String
27. Is You or Is You Ain't My Baby

Personnel and dates:

Tracks #1-12: Charlie Shavers (tp), Roy Burns (p), Tommy Bryant (b), Ray Bryant (d). Recorded in NYC, October 10, 1959.

#13-24: Charlie Shavers (tp), Roy Burns (p), Aaron Bell (b), Ray Bryant (d). Recorded in NYC, July 1960.

#25-27: Charlie Shavers (tp, vcl) acc by unknown p, b and d. Paris, ca 1964.


14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete Recordings Vol.2
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.