Charlie Parker

The Complete Carnegie Hall Performances (4-CD)

Definitive Records

Charlie Parker (as), Dizzy Gillespie, Fats Navarro, Roy Eldridge, Red Rodney (tp), Sonny Criss (as), Coleman Hawkins, Lester Young, Flip Phillips (ts), John Lewis, Hank Jones (p), Ray Brown (b), Roy Haynes, Buddy Rich (d), Ella Fitzgerald (vcl)

Reference: DRCD 11375

Bar code: 8436006493751

Charlie Parker's integral concerts at Carnegie Hall for the first time on a single collection. Contains three previously unissued tracks and many long unavailable recordings.

Covering a period from 1947 to 1954, the material Includes his last known live recording ever, which was also the next to last session of his life: three numbers played in 1954 in a quartet format, backed by three of the initial Modern Jazz Quartet stars, John Lewis, Percy Heath and Kenny Clarke.

As bonus tracks, the producers have selected three rarely heard and very interesting recordings. His only known live recordings with Machito, including the previously unissued tracks cut on February 11, 1949. Next, it is a sole selection recorded live at an unknown venue in New York, probably from a radio broadcast, featuring an extended quartet version of 'I Can't Get Started' with a long and juicy solo by the altoist.

Includes 20-page booklet with photos and detailed information.


CD 1
01. A Night in Tunisia (5:04)
02. Dizzy Atmosphere (3:58)
03. Groovin High (5:13)
04. Confirmation (5:39)
05. Ko-Ko (4:08)
06. The Bird (4:46)
07. Repetition (2:59)
08. Introduction by Norman Granz (1:15)
09. Leap Here (11:26)
10. Indiana (Back Home Again In) (11:19)
11. Lover Come Back to Me (15:39)

Total time: 71:26 min.

CD 2
01. The Opener (12:49)
02. Lester Leaps In (12:16)
03. Embraceable You (10:35)
04. The Closer (10:58)
05. Ow! / Voice-over introducing Ella Fitzgerald (0:47)
06. Flyin Home (5:33)
07. How High the Moon (6:24)
08. Perdido (8:34)

Total time: 67:56 min.

01. Ornithology (5:25)
02. Cheryl (5:01)
03. Ko-Ko (5:10)
04. All the Things You Are (6:08)
05. Nows the Time (5:18)
06. What Is This Thing Called Love? (2:54)
07. April in Paris (3:12)
08. Repetition (2:48)
09. Easy to Love (2:24)
10. Rocker (3:14)
11. Just Friends (First Concert) (3:02)
12. Easy to Love (First Concert) (2:23)
13. Repetition into Strings Theme (First Concert) (5:08)
14. Just Friends (Second Concert) (3:34)
15. Easy to Love (Second Concert) (2:28)
16. Announcement by Charlie Parker / Repetition into Strings Theme (Second Concert) (5:24)

Total time: 63:21 min.

CD 4
01. Announcement (0:49)
02. A Night In Tunisia (7:30)
03. Fifty-Second Street Theme (2:19)
04. The Song Is You (4:24)
05. My Funny Valentine (2:07)
06. Cool Blues (2:54)
07. No Noise (6:36) (*) Unissued Bonus Track
08. Mango Mangue (3:38) (*) Unissued Bonus Track
09. Tanga (6:22) (*) Unissued Bonus Track
10. Bean and the Boys (1:31)
11. Stuffy (7:51)
12. Mambo (5:08) (*) Bonus Track
13. Lament for the Congo (5:46) (*) Bonus Track
14. I Cant Get Started (4:50) (*) Bonus Track

Total time : 61:52 min.

All tracks recorded at Carnegie Hall, New York, between 1947 and 1954.

Personnel: Charlie Parker, alto sax on all tracks, with: Dizzy Gillespie, Fats Navarro, Roy Eldridge, Red Rodney, Sonny Criss, Coleman Hawkins, Lester Young, Flip Phillips, John Lewis, Hank Jones, Ray Brown, Roy Haynes, Buddy Rich, Ella Fitzgerald and many others.



"Nine years after Benny Goodman's groundbreaking concert, bebop finally came to Carnegie Hall. Most notable on this 4-CD set is the meeting between altoist Charlie Parker and trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie. Joined by the underrecorded piano of John Lewis, bassist Al McKibbon and the slightly overrecorded drums of Joe Harris, Bird and Diz generate some real fireworks on tracks #1-5, and Parker's rendition of 'Confirmation' and the CD's high point, is definitive and memorable."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


34,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Carnegie Hall Performances (4-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.