Descargas · The Havana Sessions (2-CD)
  • Panart LP 2092
    Panart LP 2092


Descargas · The Havana Sessions (2-CD)


Israel López 'Cachao' (b), Alejandro 'El Negro' Vivar, Armando 'Chocolate' Armenteros (tp), Generoso 'Tojo' Jiménez (tb), Richard Egües (fl), Orestes López 'Macho', 'Peruchín' (p), Guillermo Barreto, Tata Güines (perc)

Reference: YY9440

Bar code: 8436006494512

This outstanding 2-CD set contains all of Israel López "Cachao" legendary Descargas - recorded in Havana between 1957 and 1961, for the first time ever on one release. Prior to this edition, aficionados of the legendary Cuban bassist-composer had to search out 5 long out of print CDs in order to reunite all of this material.

With an incredible list of legendary Cuban musicians, including : Tata Güines, Alejandro 'El Negro' Vivar, Generoso 'El Tojo' Jiménez, Chico O'Farrill, Walfredo de los Reyes, Los Papines, Pedro Justiz 'Peruchín', Richard Egües, Emilio Peñalver, Orestes López 'Macho', Andrés Echevarría 'Niño Rivera', Guillermo Barreto, Gustavo Tamayo, Armando Armenteros, Osvaldo Peñalver, Emilio Peñalver, Luis Escalante, and many more.

Splendid Sound Quality, new and careful 20-Bit Remastering. Includes 24-page comprehensive booklet with liner notes in both English and Spanish.


01. Descarga Cubana
02. Goza Mi Trompeta
03. Cógele El Golpe
04. Trombón Criollo
05. Malanga Amarillo
06. Pamparana
07. Oye Mi Tres Montuno
08. Controversia En (De) Metales
09. A Gozar Timbero
10. Sorpresa En (De) Flauta
11. Estudio En Trompeta
12. Guajeo De Saxos
13. La Floresta
14. Avance Juvenil
15. Redención
16. Descarga Mambo
17. Juán Pescao
18. El Bombín De Perucho
19. Descarga Mexicana
20. El Fantasma
21. Bilongo
22. Descarga Número Uno
23. Descarga Número Dos

CD 2
01. Leche Con Rón
02. Las Boinas De Cachao
03. Cha Cha Chá De Los Pollos
04. Mucho Humo
05. Es Diferente
06. Oguere Mi China
07. Descarga General
08. El Manisero
09. Descarga Guajira
10. La Inconclusa
11. La Luz
12. Rumba Sabrosa
13. Descarga Ñáñiga
14. Cachao Te Pone A Bailar
15. Descarga Cha Cha
16. Popurrit De Congas

Album details

Total Time: 152:25 min.

Personnel on CD 1:

Tracks #1-12 - Cachao y su Ritmo Caliente
Alejandro 'El Negro' Vivar (tp), Generoso 'El Tojo' Jiménez (tb), Richard Egües (fl.), Emilio Peñalver (ts), Virgilio Lesama (bar), Orestes López 'Macho' (p), Andrés Echevarría 'Niño Rivera' (tres), Guillermo Barreto (pailas, timbales), Tata Güines (congas), Rogelio 'Yeyo' Iglesias (bongos)and Gustavo Tamayo (güiro).
Recorded in Havana, 1957

Tracks #13-20 - Cachao y su Conjunto
Same personnel as above except A. Armenteros (tp) added, Peñalver, Egües & Lesama out. Los Papines (congas) replace Güines on some tracks.
Recorded in Havana, 1957-1959

Tracks #21-23 - Cachao with Chico OFarrill and His Cuban All-Stars
Featuring soloists Richard Egües (fl), Osvaldo Peñalver (as), Emilio Peñalver (ts), Pedro Justiz 'Peruchín' (p), Tata Güines (congas).
Recorded in Havana, 1957-1959

Personnel on CD 2:

Tracks #1-5 - Cachao with Walfredo de los Reyes and His All-Stars
Luis Escalante (tp), Julio Guerrero (fl), Jesús Caunedo (as), Paquito Echevarría (p), Walfredo de los Reyes (timbales), Los Papines (congas).
Recorded in Havana, 1957-1959

Tracks #6-8 - Cachao y su Ritmo Caliente
Same personnel as CD 1 #1-12 except Armando Armenteros (tp), Enemeldo Jiménez (as) added, Egües out.
Recorded in Havana, 1957-1961

Tracks #9-16 - Cachao y su Conjunto
Same personnel as above except Lesama and Peñalver out.
Recorded in Havana, 1959-1961

24,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Descargas · The Havana Sessions (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.