Buddy Rich Just Sings (Digipack Edition)
  • Mercury MG-20461
    Mercury MG-20461

Buddy Rich

Buddy Rich Just Sings (Digipack Edition)

Jazz Beat

Buddy Rich (vcl), Ben Webster (ts), Harry “Sweets” Edison (tp), Paul Smith (p, celeste), Howard Roberts (g), Joe Mondragon (b) Alvin Stoller (d) and the Hal Mooney Orchestra.

Reference: JB 522

Bar code: 8436019585221

The complete album Buddy Rich Just Sings paired with The Voice Is Rich , the first LPs in which Buddy Rich set aside his drums and limited himself exclusively to singing with a warm and mellow voice.

On the earlier album, Rich is accompanied by a fine line-up including Ben Webster and Harry "Sweets" Edison; while on the second one, he was backed by The Hal Mooney Orchestra, with arrangements by Mooney and Phil Moore.

While it is an undisputed fact that Buddy Rich (1917-1987) earned his fame behind a drum kit, his early career also included work as a singer and entertainer. The two albums reissued here were certainly not Buddy Rich's first vocal recordings, but they were his first full vocal albums.

During a 1971 interview with Les Tomkins, Rich admitted his devotion to Lena Horne, Billy Eckstine and Frank Sinatra.


01. Cathy
02. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
03. Its All Right With Me
04. Over The Rainbow
05. You Took Advantage Of Me
06. Cant We Be Friends?
07. Its Only A Paper Moon
08. My Melancholy Baby
09. Cheek To Cheek
10. It Dont Mean A Thing
11. I Hadnt Anyone Til You
12. That Old Feeling
13. Down The Old Ox Road
14. Born To Be Blue
15. Ive Heard That Song Before
16. I Want A Little Girl
17. I Cant Give You Anything But Love
18. Youve Changed
19. Me And My Shadow
20. When The World Was Young
21. Its Been A Long Long Time
22. I Dont Want To Walk Without You
23. Back In Your Own Back Yard

Total time: 74:12 min.

Tracks #1-12 from "Buddy Rich Just Sings" (Verve LP MGV-2075). Personnel: Buddy Rich (vcl), Ben Webster (ts), Harry Sweets Edison (tp), Paul Smith (p, celeste), Howard Roberts (g), Joe Mondragon (b) and Alvin Stoller (d). Recorded in Los Angeles, on January 31, 1957.

Tracks #13-23 from "The Voice Is Rich" (Mercury MG-20461 Mono / SR-60144 Stereo). Personnel: Buddy Rich (vcl), accompanied by the Harold "Hal" Mooney Orchestra. Recorded in New York, October 1959.

14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Buddy Rich Just Sings (Digipack Edition)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.