The Sound of Jazz - Complete Edition

20th Century Jazz Masters

Billie Holiday, Jimmy Rushing (vcl), Henry 'Red' Allen, Emett Berry, Doc Cheatham, Joe Newman, Joe Wilder, Roy Eldridge, Buck Clayton (tp), Vic Dickenson, Benny Morton, Dickie Wells (tb), Pee Wee Russell (cl), Earl Warren (as), Coleman Hawkins, Ben Webster Lester Young (ts), jimmy Giuffre (cl, ts, bs), Gerry Mulligan (bs), Count Basie, Thelonious Monk, Hank Jones, Mal Waldron, Ahmad Jamal (p), Freddie Green, Jim Hall (g), Eddie Jones, Milt Hinton, George Duvivier (b), Jo Jones, Osie Johnson (d)

Reference: IDVD1058

20th Century Jazz Masters Series
Three Jazz Movie Masterpieces

Both Pal & NTSC systems on the same DVD - Universal Zone
Total running time: 70:00 min. approx.

"***** Undoubtlessly the finest hour jazz has ever had on television...
The triumph of soul over matter"

-Gunther Schuller, The Swing Era

This historic episode from "The Seven Lively Arts" CBS television series - directed by filmmaker Jack Smight -features some of the giants of classic and modern jazz in an all-star studio session that gives an inside view into the improvisational nature of the music.

Contains memorable sequences such as:

Billie Holiday singing her most beautiful version of "Fine and Mellow" with perhaps the most heartrending and moving solos Prez ever played, and featuring solos by Roy Eldridge, Vic Dickenson, Coleman Hawkins, Ben Webster, Gerry Mulligan, etc.

Thelonious Monk playing his classic "Blue Monk" with Abdul Malik and Osie Johnson, under Count Basie's watchful eye and in front of a very skeptical Jimmy Rushing.

The Count Basie All-Stars' fascinating blues performances featuring Emmett Berry, Doc Cheatham, Joe Newman, Roy Eldridge, Benny Morton, Dicky Wells, Freddie Green, etc.

The Jimmy Giuffre trio performing his hit "The Train and the River" along with the finale "Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me" that mixes the old with the new, and features the legendary Pee Wee Russell.

Also included here are four "Jazz From Studio 61" performances by the Ahmad Jamal Trio (with Israel Crosby and Vernell Fournier) and the Ben Webster Sextet featuring Buck Clayton, Hank Jones, Vic Dickenson, George Duvivier and Jo Jones.


25,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Sound of Jazz - Complete Edition
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.