Dizzy Atmosphere (Digipack Edition)
  • Liberty LRP-3045 Liberty LRP-3045
  • Roulette R-52094 Roulette R-52094

Lee Morgan

Dizzy Atmosphere (Digipack Edition)

Jazz Beat

Lee Morgan (tp), Al Grey (tb), Billy Mitchell (ts), Billy Root (bs), Wynton Kelly (p), Paul West (b), Charlie Persip (d)

Reference: JB 530

Bar code: 8436019585306

This somewhat obscure Lee Morgan set, features the trumpeter with other then-current members of the Dizzy Gillespie big band: trombonist Al Grey, tenor saxophonist Billy Mitchell, baritonist Billy Root, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul West and drummer Charlie Persip. With arrangements provided by Benny Golson and Roger Spotts, the music is modern bop for the period. Highlights include the 10 1/2-minute "Dishwater," "Over the Rainbow" and what was probably the first-ever version of Golson's "Whisper Not." Morgan plays extremely well throughout the spirited set, and he was just 18 at the time.

This release contains Lee Morgan's complete "Dizzy Atmosphere" LP, originally cut for Specialty. As a bonus, this CD also includes both of the quintet tracks from Morgan's February 27, 1957 session with Charlie Persip's Jazz Statesmen, and all three tracks from the trumpeter's July 1960 quintet date with Wayne Shorter. Includes 12-page comprehensive booklet.


01. Dishwater
02. Someone I Know
03. DDT
04. Whisper Not
05. About Time
06. Day By Day
07. Rite Of Spring
08. Over The Rainbow
09. Whisper Not [Alternate Take]
10. Reggie Of Chester (*) Bonus Track
11. Blues After Dark (*) Bonus Track
12. A Bid For Sid (*) Bonus Track
13. Suspended Sentence (*) Bonus Track
14. Minor Strain (*) Bonus Track

Total time: 74:54 min.

Tracks #1-9 from "Dizzy Atmosphere" sessions (Specialty LP-5001). Personnel: Lee Morgan (tp), Al Grey (tb), Billy Mitchell (ts), Billy Root (bs), Wynton Kelly (p), Paul West (b) and Charlie Persip (d). Recorded in Hollywood, on February 18, 1957.

Tracks #10-11 taken from "Double Or Nothin'/Howard Rumsey's Lighthouse All Stars" (Liberty LRP-3045). Personnel: Lee Morgan (tp), Benny Golson (ts), Wynton Kelly (p), Wilfred Middlebrooks (b on 10), Red Mitchell (b on 11) and Charlie Persip (d). Recorded in Los Angeles, on February 27, 1957.

Tracks #12-14 taken from "The Best Of Birdland Vol.1 / John Coltrane And Lee Morgan" (Roulette R-52094). Personnel: Lee Morgan (tp), Wayne Shorter (ts), Bobby Timmons (p), Jimmy Rowser (b) and Art Taylor (d). Recorded in New York, July, 1960.

$16.31  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Dizzy Atmosphere (Digipack Edition)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.