Weather Report

The Columbia Albums 1971-1975 (7-CD Box Set)

Box Sets & Special Editions

Joe Zawinul (p, keyb), Wayne Shorter (saxes), Miroslav Vitous, Alphonso Johnson (b), Alphonse Mouzon, Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler, Darryl Brown, Chester Thompson (d), Dom Um Romão, Alex Acuña (perc), Hubert Laws (fl)

Reference: 88691 993422

Bar code: 886919934229

This collection (their first six albums) captures the band's birth and maturation, from an avant garde, improvisational ensemble, to a fusion, groove-based juggernaut, winning polls and playing large venues the world over.

· Six great original albums in seven CDs

· Each individual album is packaged in a replica mini-LP sleeve reproducing that albums original cover art

· Includes the very first U.S. release (in any format) of the 2-LP set, "Live In Tokyo"

· Also on hand is bassist Miroslav Vitous, the third founding member of Weather Report

· Extensive, detailed essay by noted music journalist, Bill Milkowski, quoting many of the musicians


For many, the story of Weather Report begins with the late 1970s albums that featured the addition of electric bassist Jaco Pastorius (as documented on 2011's box set, Weather Report: The Columbia Albums 1976-1982, which celebrated the 40th anniversary of the band's formation). Yet what the six albums that make up this comprehensive collection prove beyond a shadow of a doubt is that the early to mid 1970s saw some of the most adventurous and satisfying work of Weather Report's entire lifespan. In fact, its these recordings - Weather Report, I Sing the Body Electric, Live In Tokyo, Sweetnighter, Mysterious Traveller and Tale Spinnin - that established Weather Report as one of the seminal fusion ensembles of the era, alongside such brethren bands as the Mahavishnu Orchestra, The Headhunters, and Return To Forever.

The brainchild of the keyboardist and composer Joe Zawinul and the saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter, Weather Report, in its early incarnations, also featured two brilliant bassists -- first, Miroslav Vitous, followed by Alphonso Johnson - and a host of top-notch drummers and percussionists. Blending free form improvisation within a heady atmosphere that balanced lyrical flights of fancy with the bite of rock-textured sonics, the early albums announced the emergence of a daring band to be reckoned with.

Live In Tokyo, heard here in its entirety after decades as an import-only release, gave notice that Weather Report wasnt afraid to turn up the juice and rock an audience, while the critically acclaimed triumvirate of Sweetnighter, Mysterious Traveller and Tale Spinnin, with new bassist Johnson onboard, introduced funk and R&B to the mix and solidified the bands reputation as possibly the most creative of contemporary fusion units.

With remastered sound and authoritative liner notes by Bill Milkowski, Weather Report: The Columbia Albums 1971-1975, is also noteworthy for the inclusion of the complete Live In Tokyo, (a handful of whose tracks had appeared on I Sing the Body Electric) which captures the band at a peak performance in 1972.

Weather Report celebrated its 40th anniversary last year. Many of Joe Zawinul's and Wayne Shorter's great compositions are here throughout.

Albums Included:

CD 1 - Weather Report (PC30661) 1971
Plus one bonus track
CD 2 - I Sing the Body Electric (KC31352) 1972
Plus one bonus track
CD 3 & 4 - Live in Tokyo [double set]
(SOPJ 12~13-XR) 1972 · First U.S. release 2012
CD 5 - Sweetnighter (KC32210) 1973
Plus one bonus track
CD 6 - Mysterious Traveller (KC32494) 1974
Plus two bonus tracks
CD 7 - Tale Spinnin (PC33417) 1975
Plus two bonus tracks


Complete tracklisting:

CD 1

01. Milky Way
02. Umbrellas
03. Seventh Arrow
04. Orange Lady
05. Morning Lake
06. Waterfall
07. Tears
08. Eurydice

CD 2

01. Unknown Soldiers
02. The Moors
03. Crystal
04. Second Sunday In August
05. Medley (Live):
-Vertical Invader
-T. H.
-Dr. Honoris Causa
06. Surucucu
07. Directions (Live)
08. Directions (Take 1)

CD 3

01. Medley:
-Vertical Invader
-Seventh Arrow
-Doctor Honoris Causa
02. Medley:
-Early Minor

CD 4

01. Orange Lady (Live)
02. Medley:
-The Moors
03. Medley:

CD 5

01. Boogie Woogie Waltz
02. Manolete
03. Adios
04. 125th Street Congress
05. Will
06. Non-Stop Home
07. 125th Street Congress (DJ Logic Remix)

CD 6

01. Nubian Sundance
02. American Tango
03. Cucumber Slumber
04. Mysterious Traveler
05. Blackthorn Rose
06. Scarlet Woman
07. Jungle Book
08. Cucumber Slumber (Live)
09. Nubian Sundance (Live)

CD 7

01. Man In The Green Shirt
02. Lusitanos
03. Between The Thighs
04. Badia
05. Freezing
06. Five Short Stories
07. Man In The Green Shirt (Live)


29,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Columbia Albums 1971-1975 (7-CD Box Set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.