Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones · Complete Recordings (3-CD)
  • Verve MG 2029
    Verve MG 2029
  • Norgran MGN 1019
    Norgran MGN 1019
  • Verve MG 2073
    Verve MG 2073
  • Verve MGV 8272
    Verve MGV 8272
  • Verve MGV 8299
    Verve MGV 8299

Teddy Wilson

Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones · Complete Recordings (3-CD)

Essential Jazz Classics

Teddy Wilson (p), Milt Hinton, Gene Ramey, Al Lucas (b), Jo Jones (d), plus Benny Carter (as)

Reference: EJC55408

Bar code: 8436028694082

This set compiles four original Verve LPs on a special 3-CD box: "For Quiet Lovers," "I Got Rhythm," "The Impeccable Mr. Wilson" and "These Tunes Remind Me Of You" plus a complete bonus session featuring Benny Carter, Teddy Wilson and Jo Jones in trio format.

An outstanding trio masterwork compiled for the first time on a single set, including a 20-page booklet with photos and detailed information.


CD 1:
01. Blues For The Oldest Profession
02. It Had To Be You
03. You Took Advantage Of Me
04. Three Little Words
05. If I Had You
06. Who's Sorry Now?
07. The Birth Of The Blues
08. When Your Lover Has Gone
09. Moonlight On The Ganges
10. April In Paris
11. Hallelujah
12. Get Out Of Town
13. Stompin' At The Savoy
14. Say It Isn't So
15. All Of Me
16. Stars Fell On Alabama
17. I Got Rhythm
18. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
19. Sweet Georgia Brown
20. As Time Goes By
21. Smiles
22. When Your Lover Has Gone
23. Limehouse Blues

Total time: 74:47 min.

CD 2:
01. Blues For Daryl
02. You're Driving Me Crazy
03. I Want To Be Happy
04. Ain't Misbehavin'
05. Honeysuckle Rose
06. Fine And Dandy
07. Sweet Lorraine
08. I Found A New Baby
09. It's The Talk Of The Town
10. Laura
11. Undecided
12. Time On My Hands
13. Who Cares?
14. Our Love Is Here To Stay
15. When You're Smiling
16. Imagination
17. The World Is Waiting For A Sunrise
18. I've Got The World On A String

Total time: 65:21 min.

CD 3:
01. Whispering
02. Poor Butterfly
03. Rosetta
04. Basin Street Blues
05. How Deep Is The Ocean?
06. Just One Of Those Things
07. Have You Met Miss Jones?
08. It Don't Mean A Thing
09. Little Girl Blue (*) Bonus Track
10. June In January (*) Bonus Track
11. Jeepers Creepers (*) Bonus Track
12. Rosetta (*) Bonus Track
13. The Birth Of The Blues (*) Bonus Track
14. When Your Lover Has Gone (*) Bonus Track
15. The Moon Is Low (*) Bonus Track
16. The Love Of Mine (*) Bonus Track

Total time: 66:53 min.

CD 1, track #1-12 from "For Quiet Lovers" (Verve MG 2029 / reissue of "The Creative Teddy Wilson" Norgran MGN 1019). Personnel: Teddy Wilson (p), Milt Hinton (b) and Jo Jones (d). Recorded in New York, on January 1, 1955.

CD 1, tracks #13-23 & CD 2, tracks #1-2 from "I Gort Rhythm" (Verve MG 2073). Personnel: Teddy Wilson (p), Gene Ramey (b) and Jo Jones (d). Recorded in New York, on March 5, 1956.

CD 2, tracks #3-14 from "The impeccable Mr. Wilson" (Verve MGV 8272). Personnel: Teddy Wilson (p), Al Lucas (b) and Jo Jones (d). Recorded in New York, on September 13, 1956.

CD 2, tracks #15-18 & CD 3, tracks #1-8 from "These Tunes Remind Me Of You" (Verve MGV 8299).Same personnel and recording dates as the previous set.

Bonus session (CD 3, tracks #9-16) originally from "The Benny Carter Trio" (Norgran MGN 1025). Personnel: Benny Carter (as), Teddy Wilson (p) and Jo Jones (d). Recorded In New York, on September 20, 1954.

"After the production of the The Benny Goodman Story in 1955" -remembers Teddy Wilson in his book, Teddy Wilson Talks- "the bulk of my work was playing in public with my trio. My first steady trio had Jo Jones on drums and Gene Ramey on bass. When Jo went off on his own to form his own trio, I got an excellent drummer from Sweden, whose name was Nils-Bertil Dahlander".

Although Jo Jones' tenure with the great swing pianist was short, their association produced more than a few well-remembered concerts. In fact, they produced enough material together to complete no less than four LPs, all of which are included in this collection. All their trio collaborations were recorded in New York during three extended sessions on January 1, 1955; March 5, 1956 and September 13, 1956.

The September 20, 1954 studio session that the producers have included here as a bonus at the end of CD 3 is a strange experiment. Instead of the usual piano-bass-drum format, it includes Benny Carter's alto sax in place of the bass, creating an authentic three-star line-up, with each musician enjoying an equal share of solo space. And what can be said about the regular trio sessions? It's pure magic hearing Teddy and Jo make music together. The pianist is both elegant and contained, but always full of swing.


24,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones · Complete Recordings (3-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.