And Buddy De Franco Quartet · Complete Sessions (2-CD)
  • Norgan MGN-1094
    Norgan MGN-1094
  • Norgran MGN-1068
    Norgran MGN-1068
  • Norgran MGN-1097
    Norgran MGN-1097
  • Norgran MGN-1079
    Norgran MGN-1079
  • Verve MGV 8224
    Verve MGV 8224

Sonny Clark

And Buddy De Franco Quartet · Complete Sessions (2-CD)

Definitive Records

Buddy De Franco (cl), Sonny Clark (p), Eugene 'Senator' Wright (b), Bobby White (d)

Reference: DRCD 11260

Bar code: 8436006492600

The complete sessions of clarinet virtuoso Buddy DeFranco & his quartet, featuring pianist Sonny Clark, were originally recorded in five separate LPs for the Norgran label in 1954: "Jazz Tones", "Odalisque", "Autumn Leaves", "In A Mellow Mood" and "Sweet and Lovely"

The flowing band perform classic standards and new material. Sonny Clark is subtle and sophisticated; DeFranco was the greatest post-swing, bop-influenced clarinet player.


CD 1
01. Jack The Fieldstalker
02. Cable Car
03. I Wish I Knew
04. If I Should Lose You
05. Lover Man
06. Tenderly
07. Deep Purple
08. Monogram
09. Yesterdays
10. Blues In The Closet
11. Mine
12. You Go To My Head
13. Gerrys Tune
14. Nows The Time
15. Titoro

Total time: 72:03 min.

CD 2
01. Autumn Leaves
02. Titoro
03. The Bright One
04. Sonnys Idea
05. Laura
06. Everything Happens To Me
07. Ill Remember April
08. Willow Weep For Me
09. Minor Incident
10. A Foggy Day
11. What Can I Say Dear
12. Moe

Total time: 70:32 min.

Personnel: Buddy De Franco (cl), Sonny Clark (p), Eugene 'Senator' Wright (b) and Bobby White (d).



CD 1, tracks #2, 3, 8 & 10 taken from "Odalisque" (Norgran MGN-1094).
Recorded in New York City, on April 7, 1954.

CD 1, tracks #1, 4-7 & 9 from "Jazz Tones" (Norgran MGN-1068). Same recording session as the previous one.

CD 1, tracks #11-15 & CD 2, tracks #1 & 2 from "Autumn Leaves" (Norgran MGN-1097). Recorded in Los Angeles, on August 9, 1954.

CD 2, tracks #3-10 from "In A Mellow Mood" (Norgran MGN-1079). Recorded in Los Angeles, on August 10, 1954.

CD 2, tracks #11 & 12 taken from "Sweet And Lovely" (Verve MGV 8224). Recorded in Los Angeles, on September 1, 1954.


18,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

And Buddy De Franco Quartet · Complete Sessions (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.