Ruby Braff & Ellis Larkins

The Complete Duets (2-CD)

Definitive Records

Ruby Braff, Ellis Larkins, Vick Dickenson, Sam Margolis, Nat Pierce

Reference: DRCD 11284

Contains the complete album:
Two Part Inventions In Jazz Vols 1 & 2
Braff & Larkins Play Rogers & Hart
Ruby Braff Special

A unique collection of laidback jazz recordings -- recorded in a very spare setting that has trumpeter Ruby Braff playing with pianist Ellis Larkins, and no other accompaniment! The setting's quite unusual for the time, and it makes for a relaxed intimate meeting between two strong talents that really differs from the work that either of them were recording elsewhere. But even more incredible is the way that the two players come together without additional support -- working beautifully in a format that would have others faltering -- always swinging the tunes despite the lack of bass or drums, and clearly very at home here with the extra space that lets both of them open up creatively!

2-CD set features 25 titles that are exclusively Larkins/Braff duets recorded for Vanguard in 1955, plus an additional 8 numbers from a sextet session that features Braff with Vick Dickenson, Sam Margolis, and Nat Pierce. Titles include "Love For Sale", "Skylark", "Blue Moon", "Blues For Ellis", "Please", "Sailboat In The Moonlight", "Linger Awhile", "I'm In The Market For You", "Where Or When", "I Could Write A Book", "The Girl Friend", "Little Girl Blue", and "Thou Swell".


CD 1
01. Love for sale
02. I've got a pocketful of dreams
03. Blues for Ruby
04. I've got the world on a string
05. Please
06. Old folks
07. Blues for Ellis
08. What is there to say?
09. When a woman loves a man
10. You are too beautiful
11. Skylark
12. Sailboain the moonlight
13. A city called heaven
14. My funny Valentine
15. Where or when
16. I could write a book
17. Little girl blue

CD 2
01. Thou swell
02. My romance
03. The girl friend
04. Mountain greenery
05. Blue moon
06. You took advantage on me
07. I married an angel
08. I didn't know what time it was
09. Romance in the dark (Bonus track)
10. When you wish upon a star (Bonus track)
11. (I don't stand a) ghost of a chance (Bonus track)
12. Where's Freddie? (Bonus track)
13. Wishing (will make it so) (Bonus track)
14. I'm in the market for you (Bonus track)
15. Sweet Sue, just you (Bonus track)
16. Linger awhile (Bonus track)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Duets (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.