Chairman of the Board (+ Bonus Tracks)
  • Roulette SR52032
    Roulette SR52032
  • Count Basie
    Count Basie

Count Basie

Chairman of the Board (+ Bonus Tracks)

Essential Jazz Classics

Mills Brothers (vcl), Thad Jones, Wendell Culley, Joe Newman (tp), Al Grey, Benny Powell (tb), Marshall Royal, Frank Wess, Billy Mitchell, Frank Foster, Charlie Fowlkes (reeds), Count Basie (p), Freddie Green (g), Eddie Jones (b), Sonny Payne (d), Joe Williams (vcl)

Reference: EJC55518

Bar code: 8436028698783

This CD presents the complete album Chairman of the Board (Roulette SR52032), recorded around the same time the Count made his classic LP Basie Plays Hefti. The Basie band was full of great musicians by that time, such as Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Frank Wess and Frank Foster, plus Basie himself and the evergreen (no pun intended) Freddie Green in the rhythm section. All songs from the LP were original compositions by members of the band. Six tracks that complete the music recorded during the Chairman of the Board sessions, as well as three live versions of three of the sessions tunes from the same period have been added as a bonus.



01. Blues In Hoss' Flat 3:13
02. H.R.H. (Her Royal Highness) 2:40
03. Segue In C 6:15
04. Kansas City Shout 3:34
05. Speaking Of Sounds 3:28
06. Tv Time 3:16
07. Who, Me? 5:14
08. The Deacon 4:50
09. Half Moon Street 3:26
10. Mutt & Jeff 3:39
11. How Can You Lose 2:35*
12. Five O'clock In The Morning 3:17*
13. Moten Swing 4:52*
14. Ol' Man River 5:36*
15. Fair And Warmer 3:36*
16. Imagination 3:05*
17. H.R.H. [Live] 2:36**
18. Who, Me? [Live] 4:31**
19. Moten Swing [Live] 5:31**

Album details

Total time: 75:23 min.

Tracks #1-10, from the original 12-inch LP "Count Basie -Chairman of the Board" (Roulette SR52032)
Tracks #11-16, from the same sessions but not on the original album
Tracks #17-19, bonus tracks from the same period

Personnel on tracks #1-2 & 11-12:
Thad Jones, John Anderson, Wendell Culley, Joe Newman (tp), Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (tb), Marshall Royal (cl, as), Frank Wess (as, ts, fl), Billy Mitchell, Frank Foster (ts), Charlie Fowlkes (bs), Count Basie (p), Freddie Green (g), Eddie Jones (b), Sonny Payne (d), Joe Williams (vcl on 11-12 only).
Recorded in Chicago, March 4, 1958

Personnel on tracks #7, 9 & 13-14:
Same personnel except Joe Williams omitted.
Recorded in New York, April 28, 1958

Personnel on tracks #4, 10 & 15:
Same personnel except Joe Williams omitted.
Recorded in New York, April 29, 1958

Personnel on tracks #3, 5-6, 8 & 16:
Same personnel as above except Snooky Young (tp) replaces John Anderson, Joe Williams omitted. Freddie Green plays shaker on 5.
Recorded in New York, December 10-12, 1958

Personnel on tracks #17-19:
Same personnel as 1-2 & 11-12 except Snooky Young (tp) replaces John Anderson, Joe Williams omitted.
Recorded live at the Crescendo Club, Los Angeles, circa June 26, 1958

Studio sessions produced by Teddy Reig

Press reviews

"For this reviewer, this is one of the most satisfactory Basie LPs of recent date. There is evidence of new solo talent; the tunes are almost all superior essays in the blues, and there is less of the note of anger in the bands sound and more of mellowness."

Ralph J. Gleason -Down Beat

"Although it appeared at a time when Count Basie was enjoying respect from all quarters (as evidenced by the pop acclaim of several Grammy awards and the jazz faithful's enthusiasm for his concert at Newport), Chairman of the Board was, comparatively, a low-profile session. The record was surrounded in Basie's discography by several prize-winners and a parade of studio collaborations -- with vocalists Tony Bennett, Lambert, Hendricks & Ross, and Billy Eckstine, plus arranger Neal Hefti. This 1958 date for Roulette was a rare chance for the orchestra to perform on its own, and listeners to hear how powerful the band could be when its concentration was undiverted. Of course, Basie's band already possessed three fine arrangers (Frank Foster, Thad Jones, and Frank Wess) and at least a dozen solo voices. Each of the ten songs on Chairman of the Board were originals by Foster, Jones, Wess, or Ernie Wilkins, all of them arranged by the composer. The record is admittedly heavy on the blues, but it's a brassy, powerful vision of the blues; Foster's "Blues in Hoss' Flat" and Wilkins' "Kansas City Shout" take the band back to its hometown, beginning with a subtle swing but ending with a raucous display of power from each section. The contributions by Jones and Wess provide a necessary complement to that forceful swing. Jones' "Speaking of Sounds" employs the woodwinds to provide color and texture, while Wess' "Segue in C" relies on bassist Eddie Jones and Basie's piano to lead the band while Wess himself takes several choruses on alto sax. A dynamic date, it shows the "new testament" edition of Basie's orchestra in top form."

John Bush -All Music Guide


11,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Chairman of the Board (+ Bonus Tracks)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.