Ahmad Jamal

Complete Recordings Featuring Ray Crawford & Israel Crosby (2-CD)

Definitive Records

Ahmad Jamal (p), Ray Crawford (g), Eddie Calhoun (b), Israel Crosby, Walter Perkins (b)

Reference: DRCD 11292

Bar code: 8436006492921

Contains the complete albums: "Chamber Music Of The New Jazz" (Argo LP, 1955) "Ahmad Jamal Trio" (Epic LP, 1955) and "Ahmad Jamal" (Epic LP, 1955).

Argo's Complete 1956 Session/LP "Count 'Em 88" + 2 tracks from Okeh's 1951 Session "Ahmad Jamal's Three Strings".

This 2-CD set contains Ahmad Jamal's complete trio recordings with guitarist Ray Crawford and bassist Israel Crosby collected here for the first time ever on one edition.

This release boasts all of these albums in their entirety including the complete May 5, 1962 Piano Scene session (with Eddie Calhoun replacing Israel Crosby on bass) that was originally released as part of Epic's 1955 Ahmad Jamal album, featured here as bonus tracks.


CD 1
01. New Rumba
02. A Foggy Day
03. All Of You
04. It Ain't Necessarily So
05. Medley
06. Get A Kick Out Of You
07. Jeff
08. Darn That Dream
09. Spring Is Here
10. Black Beauty
11. Love For Sale
12. Something To Remember You By
13. Poinciana
14. Don'T Blame Me
15. Autumn Leaves
16. They Can'T Take That Away From Me
17. Old Devil Moon
18. It's Easy To Remember
19. Squeeze Me
20. Pavanne

CD 2
01. Crazy He Calls Me
02. Perfidia
03. Rica Pulpa
04. The Donkey Serenade
05. The Surrey With The Fringe on Top
06. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
07. Will You Still Be Mine
08. Ahmad's blues
09. A Gal in Calico
10. Aki And Ukthay
11. Billy Boy
12. Volga Boatman
13. On Green Dolphin Street
14. How About You?
15. I Just Can't See For Lookin'
16. Spring Will Be A Little Late This Year
17. Beat Out Me
18. Maryam
19. Easy To Remember
20. Jim Loves Sue
21. I Wish I Knew

Album details


CD 1: Ahmad Jamal (piano), Ray Crawford (guitar), Israel Crosby (bass).
CD 2: Ahmad Jamal (piano), Ray Crawford (guitar on #1-11), Israel Crosby (bass on #1-5, 12-21), Eddie Calhoun (bass #6-11), Walter Perkins (drums on #12-21).

CD 1, tracks #1-9 Recorded May 23, 1955, Chicago
CD 1, tracks 10 to CD 2, track 5 Recorded October 25, 1955, New York
CD 2, tracks 6-7 Recorded October 25, 1951, Chicago
CD 2, tracks 8-11 Recorded May 5, 1952, Chicago
CD 2, tracks 12-21 Recorded September 27 & October 4, 1956, Chicago
Remaining tracks are bonus tracks

18,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete Recordings Featuring Ray Crawford & Israel Crosby (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.