J.J. Johnson & Kai Winding

The 1958 European Tour (3-CD)

RLR Records

J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (tb), Lee Konitz (as), Zoot Sims (ts), Red Garland, Phineas Newborn Jr. (p), Oscar Pettiford (b), Kenny Clarke (d)

Reference: RLR88631

Bar code: 8436006496318

The atypical, band-leading partnership between trombonists Kai Winding and J.J. Johnson was at the peak of its fame at the time the band left for this European tour with both musicians also very successful in their own right. Although 8 musicians are featured here, they never perform as an octet on these recordings but took turns in different small groups, creating cool and intimate atmospheres.

All the tracks on this 3CD set of the J.J. Johnson & Kai Winding All Stars on their 1958 European Tour are previously unissued in any format. 38 tracks and more than three hours of never before heard music.

The tour was billed as Jazz from Carnegie Hall. The two masters of bop trombone - with a truly all-star band : Lee Konitz, Zoot Sims, Phineas Newborn Jr. or Red Garland, Oscar Pettiford and Kenny Clarke - are featured in concert in Stockholm, Berlin, Munich and Manchester. Including an equally rare bonus track of Sims, Newborn, Pettiford and Clarke only - at Domicile Club, Munich.


CD 1
01. Daahoud
02. Star Eyes
03. Sunday
04. This Cant Be Love
05. Bags Groove
06. Our Delight
07. C Jam Blues
08. Star Eyes
09. Lover Man
10. Sunday
11. Willow Weep for Me
12. Laverne Walk
13. Stardust
14. All the Things You Are
15. Mad About the Boy

Total time: 73:08 min.

CD 2
01. Bohemia After Dark
02. Blue Lou
03. Star Eyes
04. Lover Man
05. Sunday
06. Willow Weep for Me
07. Yardbird Suite
08. Laverne Walk
09. Stardust
10. All the Things You Are
11. This Cant Be Love
12. Bags Groove

Total time: 74:30 min.

CD 3:
01. Mad About the Boy
02. Bernies Tune
03. Our Delight
04. Zoot Suite
05. Star Eyes
06. Blue Lou
07. This Cant Be Love
08. Bags Groove
09. Mad About the Boy
10. Bernies Tune
11. Blues for Domicile (*) Bonus Track

Total time: 58:56 min.

* CD 1 - Tracks #1-6 Recorded at Free Trade Hall, Manchester, England, on September 16, 1958.
* CD 1 - Tracks #7-15 Recorded in Stockholm, Sweden, on September 22, 1958.
* CD 2 in full & CD 3 - Tracks #1-3 Recorded in Berlin, Germany, on September 28, 1958.
* CD 3 - Tracks #4-10 Recorded in Munich, Germany, on October 3, 1958.

(*) The bonus track [CD 3, track #11] Features Zoot Sims, Phineas Newborn Jr, Oscar Pettiford and Kenny Clarke only. Recorded at Domicile Club, Munich, on October 3, 1958.

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The 1958 European Tour (3-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.