Jim Hall

The Unreleased Sessions

Lone Hill Jazz

Buddy Collette, Bud Shank, Jim Hall, Red Mitchell, Shelly Manne

Reference: LHJ10144

Wonderful lost work from the west coast chamber jazz scene of the late 50s -- and some great work featuring the reeds of Buddy Collette alongside the guitar of Jim Hall!

The first 11 tracks on the set are from the album Swinging Shepherds -- originally issued under Collette's name for Mercury in the mid 50s, and featuring a lineup that features Collette, Bud Shank, Paul Horn, and Harry Klee on an assortment of flutes -- plus Hall on guitar, Red Mitchell on bass, and Shelly Manne or Earl Palmer on drums. The sound is light and swinging -- in the playful mode that some of the players were using with the Chico Hamilton group at the time -- on titles that include "The Shrike", "Laura", "Intermezzo", "Ruby", "Invitation", and "Swinging On A Star".

The last 8 tracks on the session are from an obscure Porgy & Bess album -- originally issued on the Interlude label, and featuring Collette and Hall with the organ of Gerald Wilson, the accordion of Pete Jolly, the bass of Red Mitchell, and the drums of Louis Bellson. This unusual lineup really does a great job of reworking the original Gershwin tunes -- using the odd instrumentation and playful arrangements to put a bright new face on tracks that include "Bess You Is My Woman", "Where's My Bess", "Summertime", and "There's A Boat That's Leavin For New York". As a bonus, the CD also features 4 more tracks from a session that has Collette and Hall with Chico Hamilton and trumpeter John Anderson -- tracks that include "It's You", "Wagnerous", and "And So Is Love".


1. Laura
2. Smile
3. The band and the beautiful
4. The shrike
5. I can't believe that you're in love with me
6. The trolley song
7. Intermezzo
8. Ruby
9. Invitation
10. Swinging on a star
11. Colonel Bogey and River Kwai March
12. It's you (bonus track)
13. A walk on the veldt (bonus track)
14. Wagnervous (bonus track)
15. And so is love (bonus track)
16. Where is my Bess
17. My man's gone now
18. Summertime
19. It ain't necessary so
20. I got plenty of nuttin'
21. There's a boat that's leavin' for New York
22. Bess you is my woman
23. a woman is a sometime thing
Total time: 76:34

Recorded in LA, 1956-1959

$16.91  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Unreleased Sessions
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.