James Moody

Hey It’s James Moody

Lone Hill Jazz

James Moody, Eddie Jefferson, Johnny Coles, Pee Wee Moore, Jimmy Boyd, Eldee Young and the arrangements of Tom McIntosh.

Reference: LHJ10195

2 LPs on 1 CD. Contains complete LPs: Hey! Its James Moody, Flute N The Blues + 3 Bonus Tracks

Genius work from James Moody -- 2 of his groundbreaking albums for Argo, both of which really show a divergence in style from the straighter bop years! First up is the magnificent Hey It's James Moody -- recorded in 1959, and one of Moody's first collaborations with arranger Tom McIntosh -- one of the most sensitive jazz voices of his time. McIntosh works in a world of many tones and colors -- and he really pushes Moody past straighter solo approaches, into a mode where he's shaping sound into complex emotion -- hitting a level of soulfulness that might never been expected in earlier years! Moody plays both tenor and flute on the session, and rhythm is by a piano-less trio that features John Gray on guitar, Eldee Young on bass, and Clarence Johnston on drums. And if that's not enough, Eddie Jefferson joins in on vocals on 2 tracks -- lending his own lyrics to Moody's great original "Last Train From Overbrook", and doing a great reading of "Summertime". Other tracks include "Stella By Starlight", "Indian Summer", "Please Say Yes", and "Blue Jubilee". Next up are 10 more tracks from the wonderful 1956 album Flute N The Blues -- also recorded for Argo, and a record that features Moody shifting from tenor sax over to flute -- and playing in a slyly seductive way that would have great implications for generations of soul jazz musicians for years to come! The sound here is never sleepy -- and instead shows the flute to be a perfect vehicle for creating more sensitive colors and tones in jazz -- in a way that's also offset by a bit of work on alto and tenor on the album as well. The group features some excellent work from trumpeter Johnny Coles and baritonist Pee Wee Moore -- plus some sparkling arrangements from pianist Jimmy Boyd -- and Eddie Jefferson joins in again on 3 great vocal numbers.


01. Starlight
02. Indian Summer
03. Don't Blame Me
04. Last Train From Overbrook (vocal version)
05. Please Say Yes
06. Blue Jubilee
07. Wood'yn You
08. Trouble In De Lowlands
09. Summertime
10. Tali
11. Flute 'n The Blues
12. Birdland Story
13. It Could Happen To You
14. I Cover The Waterfront
15. Body And Soul
16. Breaking The Blues
17. Parker's Mood
18. Easy Living
19. Boo's Tune
20. Richard's Blues
21. Last Train From Overbrook (instrumental)*
22. Workshop*
23. I'm In The Mood for Love*

* Bonus Tracks

Total Time: 79:29 min.

Recorded in Chicago, 1956-1959

$16.29  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Hey It’s James Moody
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.