Herbie Nichols Trio

Complete Studio Master Takes (2 CD Set)

Lone Hill Jazz

Herbie Nichols (p), Al McKibbon, Teddy Kotick or George Duvivier (b), Art Blakey, Max Roach or Dannie Richmond (d)

Reference: LHJ10188_2

4 LPs on 2 CDs
Contains complete LPs:
The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 1
The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 2
The Art of Herbie Nichols
Love, Gloom, Cash, Love (Bethlehem, 1957)

Some of the most exciting piano jazz ever recorded -- featured here on all of the Blue Note and Bethlehem recordings by the Herbie Nichols Trio! Nichols' heavy handed style is amazing throughout, and the record explodes with energy unheard of on other trio sessions from the time! The first 2/3 of the CD feature material from Nichols' Prophetic Herbie Nichols 10" albums on Blue Note -- recorded in 1955, and featuring either Max Roach or Art Blakey backing Herbie up -- on titles that include "Chit Chatting", "The Gig", "Terpsichore", "Spinning Song", "Mine", "House Party Starting", "Hangover Triangle", and "Query". Next up is material from the album Love Gloom Cash Love -- Herbie's only one for Bethelehem -- but stands nicely next to his better-known sides for Blue Note. The sound is similar to those, with a sharp and edgey approach -- and an incredible sense of invention that pushes the work far past any expectations you might have! Contains 3 bonus tracks that feature a quartet with guitarist Danny Barker.


1. The Third World
2. Step Tempest
3. Dance Line
4. Blue Chopsticks
5. Double Exposure
6. Cro-Magnon Nights
7. Amoeba's Dance
8. Brass Rings
9. 2300 Skiddoo
10. It Didn't Happen
11. Crisp Day
12. Shuffle Montgomery
13. The Gig
14. Hangover Triangle
15. Lady Sings The Blues
16. Chit Chatting
17. House Party Starting
18. Terpsichore

1. Wildflower
2. Mine
3. The Spinning Song
4. Query
5. Too Close for Comfort
6. Every Cloud
7. Argumentative
8. Love, Gloom, Cash, Love
9. Portrait of Ucha
10. Beyond Recall
11. All The Way
12. 45 Degree Angle
13. Infatuation Eyes
14. S'Crazy Pad
15. Who Blues?*
16. 'S WOnderful*
17. Nichols and Dimes*

* Bonus tracks
Recorded in studio in Los Angeles and Hackensack, N.J., 1955-1957
Total Time: 78:44 + 66:48 min.

$22.00  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Complete Studio Master Takes (2 CD  Set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.