The Complete Barry Galbraith, Milt Hinton and Osie Johnson Recordings (4 LPs on 2 CDs)
  • Coral, 1956
    Coral, 1956
  • RCA, 1956
    RCA, 1956
  • Bethlehem, 1955
    Bethlehem, 1955
  • RCA, 1955
    RCA, 1955

Hal McKusick

The Complete Barry Galbraith, Milt Hinton and Osie Johnson Recordings (4 LPs on 2 CDs)

Lone Hill Jazz

Hal McKusick, Barry Galbraith, Milt Hinton, Osie Johnson. Compositions and Arrangements by Gil Evans, George Russell, Manny Albam, Jimmy Giuffre, All Cohn

Reference: LHJ10176_2

Bar code: 8436019581766

Four complete albums on 2 CDs:
- Jazz At The Academy (Coral, 1956)
- The Jazz Workshop (RCA, 1956)
- East Coast Jazz Series No.8 (Bethlehem, 1955)
- In a 20th Century Drawing Room (RCA, 1955)

In 1954, arranger, composer and multi-reed instrumentalist Hal McKusick decided to form a quartet with guitarist par excellence Barry Galbraith, bassist Milt Hinton and drummer Osie Johnson. This outstanding release includes all four of the albums released by the quartet. The session also boasts numerous arrangements and compositions by George Russell, Manny Albam, Al Cohn, Johnny Mandel, Jimmy Giuffre and Gil Evans.

One of the best-kept secrets in jazz, the extraordinary cool toned alto saxophonist has fallen into virtual anonymity despite the extremely high quality of his recordings and his incomparable talents as a soloist. With the most comprehensive anthology of his music to date, it is our intention to shine new light on the career of the inimitable Hal McKusick.


CD 1

01. Give 'Em Hal
02. When The Sun Comes Out
03. Can't Get Out Of This Mood
04. These Foolish Things
05. Out Of This World
06. This Is New
07. Over The Rainbow
08. Serenade In Blue
09. Prelude To A Kiss
10. Irresistible You
11. Ain't Nothin' But a Memory Now
12. Alto Cumulus
13. Jambangle
14. Blues for Pablo
15. Tommy Hawk
16. One Score and Eight Horns Ago
17. Just Leave It Alone
18. The Blues Train

CD 2

01. Taylor Made
02. You Don't Know What Love Is
03. They Can't Take That Away From Me
04. Lullaby For Leslie
05. Minor Matters
06. Blue-Wbo
07. By-Lan
08. What's New
09. Interwoven
10. Give'en Hal
11. My Inspiration
12. Gift Of The Magi
13. Can't We Be Friends
14. Step Lively Osie
15. Minor Seventh Heaven
16. Theme
17. How Long Has This Been Going On
18. Immortal
19. Brother Jack
20. Alto Stratus
21. You're A Lucky Guy

Total Time: 150 min. approx.

All sessions recorded between 1955-1956


Here is a new sound in modern jazz. It was inspired by Gerry Mulligans piano-less quartet which utilizes the bass as the basic sound of the group leaving the other instruments free to weave their lines in an unrestricted way.

Hal McKusick


$30.06  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Complete Barry Galbraith, Milt Hinton and Osie Johnson Recordings (4 LPs on 2 CDs)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.