The Complete Gus Wildi Recordings & More (2 CD set)
  • Bethlehem, 1956
    Bethlehem, 1956
  • Bethlehem, 1956
    Bethlehem, 1956
  • Capitol, 1955
    Capitol, 1955

Duke Ellington

The Complete Gus Wildi Recordings & More (2 CD set)

Lone Hill Jazz

Clark Terry, Cat Anderson, Ray Nance, Britt Woodman, Quentin Jackson, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Jimmy Hamilton, Harry Carney, Jimmy Woode, Sam Woodyard

Reference: LHJ10173_2

Bar code: 8436019581735

3 Outstanding Albums On 2 CDs!
- Historically Speaking The Duke! (Bethlehem)
- Duke Ellington Presents! (Bethlehem)
- Ellington 55! (Capitol)

This mammoth release contains 33 tracks and 140 minutes of pure Ellington!
Dukes association with Gus Wildis Bethlehem label produced two 1956 albums, Historically Speaking The Duke! and Duke Ellington Presents This edition features both of these albums in their entirety as well as all of the 10 songs from the Duke Ellington Ellington 55 LP as bonus tracks. All three of the albums are in a similar vein, showcasing the exquisite material and original arrangements from Ellingtons early songbook.


Disc 1
1. East St.Louis Toodle-O
2. Creole Love Call
3. Stompy Jones
4. The Jeep Is Jumpin'
5. Jack the Bear
6. In a Mellow Tone
7. Ko-Ko
8. Midriff
9. Stomp, Look and Listen
10. Unbooted Character
11. Lonesome Lullaby
12. Upper Manhattan Medical Group
13. Summertime
14. Laura
15. I Can't Get Started
16. My Funny Valentine
17. Everything but You
18. Frustration
19. Cotton Tail
20. Day Dream
21. Deep Purple

Disc 2
1. Indian Summer
2. Blues
3. Flying Home*
4. Honeysuckle Rose*
5. Stompin' at the Savoy*
6. Black and Tan Fantasy*
7. In the Mood*
8. One o'Clock Jump*
9. Rockin' in Rhythm*
10. Happy-Go-Lucky-Local*
11. It Don't Mean a Thing*
12. Body and Soul

Total Time: 72:13 and 67:26
Recorded 1955-1956

"... the program is an anthology of Ellingtonia (Strayhorn's Midriff is the only tune not by Duke), with basically the original arrangements used."
- Nat Hentoff, Down Beat


$22.53  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Complete Gus Wildi Recordings & More (2 CD set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.