Duke Ellington

1967 European Tour - Complete Teatro Sistina Concert (2-CD)

Lone Hill Jazz

Duke Ellington (p, dir), Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Herbie Jones, Mercer Ellington (tp), Lawrence Brown, Chuck Connors, Buster Cooper (tb), Johnny Hodges (as), Russell Procope (as, cl), Jimmy Hamilton (ts, cl), Paul Gonsalves (ts), Harry Carney (bs, cl, b-cl), John Lamb (b), Rufus Jones (d)

Reference: LHJ10105_2

Bar code: 8436019581056

This 2CD-set features Duke's legendary February 22, 1967 concert at Rome,s Teatro Sistina, and contains 26 tracks and over 135 minutes of music. The Bandleader is showcased at the height of his creative powers with an orchestra that still included such oustanding figures as Cat Anderson, Cootie Willims, Lawrence Brown, Johnny Hodges, Jimmy Hamilton, Russell Procope, Paul Gonsalves and Harry Carney. This edition marks the end of an era in the life and music of the greatest composer and musical figure of the XXth century.


CD 1
01. Take the A Train Theme
02. The Twitch
03. Swamp Goo
04. Mount Harissa
05. Up Jump
06. Rue Bleu
07. Chromatic Love Affair
08. Salomé
09. Wild Onions
10. The Second Portrait of the Lion
11. Johnny Come Lately
12. Star Crossed Lovers
13. Things ain't what they Used to Be
14. Drag
15. Things ain't what they Used to Be

CD 2
01. Stompy Jones
02. Take the A Train Intro
03. Take the A Train
04. The Sheppard
05. Tutti for Cootie
06. Mara Gold
07. Star Crossed Lovers
08. Harmony in Harlem
09. Magenta Haze
10. Drag
11. Rockin' in Rhythm

Press reviews

"These CDs capture Duke Ellington's orchestra during a European tour late in his career, but when he still retained virtually all of his star sidemen... Typically brillint music from Duke Ellington."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


$23.51  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

1967 European Tour - Complete Teatro Sistina Concert (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.