Dodo Marmarosa Trio

Complete Studio Recordings - 2 CD set

Lone Hill Jazz

Dodo Marmarosa, Ray Brown, Barney Kessel, Harry Babasin, Sam Jones, Marshall Thompson

Reference: LHJ10119_2

This great release contains all the recordings made by one of the most exciting pianists in jazz, the so-called Charlie Parker of the piano, with his own trio, from the beginning of his career to the last studio session in Chicago.

The first CD covers the golden years of his career which include the sides he cut in his early years in California for the legendary Dial and Savoy labels among others.

The second CD offers the pianists two final recording sessions, both in Chicago. One for the Argo label, issued on Lp as Dodos Back! (containing a unhackneyed selection of standards), and the other for the famous Prestige label.


Disc 1: 79:31
1. Mellow Mood
2. Dodo's Blues
3. Raindrops
4. I've Got News for You
5. Compadoo
6. I'm In Love
7. Opus nÂș5
8. You Thrill me So
9. Dodo's Bounce
10. Escape
11. Love Come Back to Me
12. Raindrops
13. Smoke Gets in your Eyes
14. Bopmatism
15. Bopmatism
16. Dodo's Dance
17. Trade Winds
18. Dary Departs
19. Cosmo Street
20. My Foolish Heart
21. Blue Room
22. Why Was I Born
23. The Night is Young
24. Bopmatism (alternate)
25. Dodo's Dance (alternate)
26. Trade Winds (alternate)
27. Dary Departs (alternate)
28. Dary Departs (alternate)
29. Cosmo Street (alternate)

Disc 2: 74:50
1. April Played the Fiddle
2. Why Do I Love You
3. Everything Happens to Me
4. Me and My Shadow
5. On Green Dolphin Street
6. Tracy's Blues
7. You Call It Madness
8. Mellow Mood
9. I Thought about You
10. A Cottage for Sale
11. The Song is You
12. Just Friends
13. Yardbird Suite
14. I Remember You
15. The Moody Blues
16. The Very Thought of You
17. Yardbird Suite (alternate)


$22.53  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Complete Studio Recordings - 2 CD set
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.