Curtis Counce

Complete Quintet Studio Recordings (2-CD)


Curtis Counce (b), Jack Sheldon, Gerald Wilson (tp), Harold Land (ts), Carl Perkins (p), Frank Butler (d)

Reference: 69258_2

Bar code: 8436028692583

Celebrated American jazz bassist Curtis Counce was born in Kansas City on 23, 1926 and died prematurely of a heart attack on July 31, 1963. He recorded prolifically as a sideman accompanying figures like Clifford Brown, and before creating his famous quintet in 1956, featuring Harold Land, Jack Sheldon, Frank Butler and another ill-fated musician, pianist Carl Perkins. All of the master take recordings by the original Curtis Counce Quintet are included on this release.

As a splendid bonus to the original studio master takes, they have added the complete soundtrack from a rare 1956 TV Show, the only known TV studio recording by this quintet. Although both "Love Walked In" and "A Fifth for Frank" were also recorded by the quintet in the same period, the longer tune, "Sophisticated Lady", is a welcome addition as it was never commercially recorded by this group.

Includes 16-page booklet with photos by William Claxton.


CD 1
01. Landslide
02. Time After Time
03. Mia
04. Sarah
05. A Fifth for Frank
06. Big Foot
07. Sonar
08. Stranger in Paradise
09. Woody'n You
10. Pink Lady
11. Counceltation
12. Love Walked In *
13. Sophisticated Lady *
14. A Fifth for Frank *
15. The Butler Did It [drum solo] *

Total time: 79:47 min.

CD 2
01. Love Walked In
02. Too Close for Comfort
03. How Deep Is the Ocean?
04. Complete
05. Nica's Dream
06. How Long Has This Been Going On?
07. Mean to Me
08. I Can't Get Started
09. La Rue
10. Carl's Blues
11. A Night in Tunisia

Total time: 79:00 min.

(*) Bonus Tracks

CD 1:
- Tracks #1-6: Recorded on October 8, 1956
- Tracks #7-9: Recorded on October 15, 1956
- Tracks #10-11 & CD 2, #1-2: Recorded on April 22, 1957

CD 2:
- Tracks #3-4: Recorded on May 13, 1957
- Track #5-6: Recorded on August 29, 1957
- Track #7: Recorded on September 3, 1957
- Track #8 & 15: Recorded on January 6, 1958
- Track #9-11: Same date. Gerald Wilson (tp) replaces Sheldon
- Track #12-14: Jack Sheldon replaces Wilson. TV Show, November 12, 1956

All tracks recorded in Los Angeles

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Complete Quintet Studio Recordings (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.