Annie Ross

A Handful of Songs

Fresh Sound Records

Annie Ross (vcl), Johnnie Spence (arr, dir)

Reference: FSRCD 061

Bar code: 8427328600613


1. A Handful of Song (Maurice)
2. All of You (Chappel)
3. Fly Me To The Moon (Almanac)
4. Nature Boy (E.H. Morris)
5. What's New (Wilmark)
6. Love For Sale (T.B. Harms Co.)
7. A Lot of Livi' to do (E.H. Morris)
8. Let Me Love You (Leeds Music Corp)
9. All The Things You are (Chappell)
10.I'm Gonna go Fisnin (Comstock Music)
11.Like Someone in Love (Buzvan Music)
12.Limehouse Blues (T.B.Harms Co.)

Recorded in 1963.



"By 1963, Annie Ross had permanently moved back to England and had started working more as an actress than as a singer. This interesting set (reissued by DCC as an audiophile CD) features Ross backed by an orchestra arranged and conducted by Johnnie Spence. The obvious high point is one of the darkest and scariest versions of "Love For Sale" ever recorded; Ross' desperate-sounding rendition is haunting. Otherwise, she performs a variety of standards in lightly swinging fashion, not scatting or using vocalese but instead working on interpreting the lyrics. Other highlights include "All of You," "Nature Boy," "Like Someone in Love" and "Limehouse Blues." This worthy set was also put out on CD by the Fresh Sound label."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

A Handful of Songs
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.