Blue Sounds Jazz Workshop Vinyls Jazz Workshop Vinyls FSR Blog
SHOPPING CART...  There are no items in your shopping cart

blue line
HOME -> Lone Hill Jazz -> The New York Recordings (2 Lps On 1 Cd)
The New York Recordings (2 LPs on 1 CD)

Buy Now!

€ 14.95

Lone Hill Jazz
Sextet, NYC, May 58

Lone Hill Jazz
Octet, NYC, May 58

The New York Recordings (2 Lps On 1 Cd)

Emmett Berry Octet & Sextet

Featuring: Emmett Berry, Vic Dickenson, Buster Bailey, Red Richards, Al Lucas, Bobby Donaldson, Bucky Pizzarelli, Rex Stewart


2 LPs on 1 CD
Never previously released on CD !

A master soloist with a full-bodied tone and an exbullient and brash playing style, Emmett Berry was one of the most coveted trumpet players in traditional jazz and swing. During a career that spanned over four decades, he recorded and performed with many of the biggest names in the business. Althought he became a legend among musicians, Berry was never
to enjoy the fame attained by many of his contemporaries.
This release offers two sessions recorded at the same day with Vic Dickenson, Buster Bailey, Red Richards, Al Lucas and Bobby Donaldson for The Sextet, and adding Bucky Pizzarelli and Rex Stewart for The Octet. Don't loose the oportunity to listen to one of the best Jazz versions of the Broadway Musical Oklahoma featured through' out the Octet recording.

"Emmett Berry is just beautiful."
- Ruby Braff


1. C. Jam Blues
2. Farewell Blues
3. Surrey with the Fringe on Top
4. Oklahoma
5. Oh What a Beautiful Morning
6. People Will Say We're in Love
7. Le Grand Rompe
8. Fidgety Feet
9. Basin Street Blues
10. Muskrat Ramble
11. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?
12. Struttin' with Some Barbecue
13. Yellow Dog Blues
14. Sunday
15. St. Louis Blues

Total Time: 60:43
Recorded in New York, May 22, 1958

blue line