Exploring New Sounds (4 LPs on 2 CDs)
  • Mercury PPS 6001 Mercury PPS 6001
  • Mercury SR-80003 Mercury SR-80003
  • Mercury PPS 6023 Mercury PPS 6023
  • Mercury PPS 6016 Mercury PPS 6016
  • Pete Rugolo Pete Rugolo

Pete Rugolo

Exploring New Sounds (4 LPs on 2 CDs)

Fresh Sound Jazz City Series

Pete Rugolo (arr, cond), Pete Candoli, Conte Candoli, Don Fagerquist (tp), Herbie Harper, Frank Rosolino (tb), John Graas (Frh), Buddy Collette, Plas Johnson (reeds), André Previn (p), Larry Bunker (vib), Al Viola (g), Red Mitchell (b), Mel Lewis (d)

Reference: FSRCD 2243_2

Bar code: 8427328622431

Pete Rugolos history as a recording artist followed a unique, symmetrical pattern. In 1954 he declared: As I got going with the writing and recording, I became enthusiastic about the possibilities of the sound I could have with my own band. His arrangements included, accordingly, some unusual voicings and resultantly pleasant tone colors. You know I always loved tone colors, Pete recalled. I used to listen then mostly to Stravinsky, Ravel, Debussy and Bartók. When I started composing and arranging people said I was too modern. And, you know? I didnt care! The overall impact of Rugolos compositions and arrangements was bound up with his fresh and intriguing approach, both in his thematic material and in the flamboyant yet tasteful tone colors he employed. Pete is a master of his craft, affirmed his former boss Stan Kenton. His imagination roved to the horizons of the possible, and this 2-CD release reveals in brilliant stereo the astonishing variety of
instrumental sounds at the disposal of great jazz musicians.


CD 1

01. Artistry In Percussion 4:11
02. Interplay For Drums And Brass 2:37
03. Bongo Riff 3:45
04. One + Four 4:44
05. Chorale For Brass, Piano And Bongo 3:05
06. Fugue For Rhythm Section 4:12
07. Percussion At Work 4:56
08. Drumerama 2:33
09. Funky Drums 5:03
10. Love Is Just Around The Corner 3:10
11. Angel Eyes 3:39
12. Intermission Riff 3:59
13. Moonglow / Theme From Picnic 2:37
14. Like Love 2:31
15. Basin Street East 2:11
16. Love Is Here To Stay 2:30
17. Willow Weep For Me 3:17
18. Let There Be Love 1:41
19. Marie 2:25
20. Its A Most Unusual Day 2:08
21. Ten Trombones Like 3:17

CD 2

01. Whispering / Groovin High 1:38
02. Ciribiribin 2:18
03. Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White 2:23
04. Hot Lips 1:56
05. Struttin With Some Barbecue 2:24
06. Carnival Of Venice 2:42
07. Sugar Blues 2:22
08. Echoes Of Harlem 3:20
09. Trumpets At Large 2:21
10. Ten Trumpets Have I 1:51
11. Two Guitars [Trumpets Out] 3:06
12. Guitarsville [Trumpets Out] 2:27
13. How High The Moon / Ornithology 1:44
14. Sophisticated Lady 4:34
15. Guy Meets Freddie Meets Billy 2:06
16. Four Brothers & Early Eatumn 3:32
17. Skyliner 3:16
18. Reed Rapture 2:51
19. Saxophobia 2:03
20. Sometimes Im Happy 3:08
21. Contrasts 3:03
22. Holiday For Strings 2:48
23. Come Back To Sorrento 3:02
24. Two Funky Basses 2:06

Total time: 02:12:58 min.

Sources CD 1:

Tracks #1-9, from the 12" album
"Percussion at Work" (Mercury SR-80003)

Tracks #10-21, from the 12" album
"10 Trombones Like 2 Pianos" (Mercury PPS-6001)

Sources CD 2:

Tracks #1-9, from the 12" album
"10 Trumpets And 2 Guitars" (Mercury PPS-6016)

Tracks #10-21, from the 12" album
"10 Saxophones And 2 Basses" (Mercury PPS-6023)

Collective personnel includes:

Pete & Conte Candoli, Buddy Childers, Uan Rasey, Ed Leddy, Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach, Mannie Klein, Cappy Lewis, Ollie Mitchell, Joe Triscari, Bud Brisbois, Ray Triscari (tp, flgh), Milt Bernhart, Herbie Harper, Frank Rosolino, Russell Brown, Bob Fitzpatrick, Vern Friley, Bob Pring, Harry Betts, Joe Howard, Dick Nash, Dick Noel (tb), Kenny Schroyer, Russ Brown, George Roberts (b-tb), Clarence Karella (tuba), John Graas (Frh), Ronnie Lang, Gus Bivona, Bud Shank (as), Buddy Collette (ss, ts), Bob Cooper, Plas Johnson, Gene Cipriano (ts), Bill Perkins (ts, bs), Bill Hood (bs, bs), André Previn, Russ Freeman, Johnny Williams, Claude Williamson (p), Larry Bunker (vib, xylophone, tympani), Laurindo Almeida, Howard Roberts, Al Viola (g), Joe Mondragon, Red Mitchell (b), Shelly Manne, Mel Lewis, Alvin Stoller (d), Jack Costanzo (bongos).

Sessions recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, 1957 (CD 1 #1-9)
United Recording Studios, Hollywood, 1960 (CD 1 #10-21),(CD 2 #1-12) and 1961 (CD 2 #13-24)

See booklet for complete details.

Original recordings produced by Pete Rugolo & David Carroll
Recordings engineers: Al Schmitt, Mel Chisholm & 'Bones' Howe

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol


This compilation dedicated to Edye & Pete Rugolo



"Fresh Sound presents a double barrel, double-disc compilation loaded with four stunning instrumental concept albums recorded in Hollywood during the years 1957, 1960 and 1961 by ex-Stan Kenton arranger and composer Pete Rugolo. Born in San Piero Patti, Sicily on December 24, 1915 and raised in Santa Rosa, CA, Rugolo studied with Darius Milhaud and (like young Frank Zappa) was influenced by Igor Stravinsky. He would become somewhat notorious during the late '40s and early '50s as Kenton's designer of challenging and futuristic band charts. During the late '50s, he worked as staff arranger for Capitol, was involved with musicals at MGM, and then came into his own as music director for Mercury Records.

Opening with the bombastically bongo-ridden Capitol album "Percussion at Work," Fresh Sound's titillating tour of mannered modernity follows Rugolo's quirky imagination through three deliberately formulated Mercury Perfect Presence Sound albums: Ten Trombones Like Two Pianos, Ten Trumpets and Two Guitars and Ten Saxophones and Two Basses. Featured players include percussionists Shelly Manne, Mel Lewis, Larry Bunker and Jack Costanzo; trombonists Frank Rosolino, Joe Howard, Milt Bernhart and Kenny Shroyer; trumpeters Manny Klein and Pete and Conte Candoli; saxophonists Bud Shank and Buddy Collette; pianists André Previn, Russ Freeman and Jimmy Rowles; guitarists Howard Roberts, Laurindo Almeida and Al Viola as well as bassists Red Mitchell and Joe Mondragon. Repertoire ranges from mainstream pop and jazz standards through classic jazz and antiquated traditional fare to cooled bop and of course Rugolo's own patented brand of modernistic chamber jazz informed as much by 20th century European innovators as by the persistently theatrical, often aggressively posed productions of Stan Kenton.

Small wonder Rugolo went directly from this kind of work to composing film scores and crafting dynamic themes for TV shows such as "Run for Your Life," "The Fugitive," "Richard Diamond, Private Detective," "The Stranger," "Felony Squad," "Lie Detector" and "The Bold Ones." This action-packed anthology is ideal for highway driving, retro-lounging, medicated housework and buffet snacking."

Arwulf Arwulf -All Music Guide


$17.58  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Exploring New Sounds (4 LPs on 2 CDs)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.