The Soulful 'Mirrors' Sound! (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • Command RS 924 Command RS 924
  • Command RS 933 Command RS 933
  • Bob Rosengarden Bob Rosengarden
  • Bob Haggart Bob Haggart
  • Dick Hyman Dick Hyman

Dick Hyman

The Soulful 'Mirrors' Sound! (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon 800 Series

Dick Hyman (p, org), Bob Haggart (b), Bob Rosengarden (d)

Reference: BMCD 893

Bar code: 8427328008938

· Collector's Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

Here’s the Mirrors sound of Dick Hyman and “The Group,” that great sound that made “Heat of the Night” explode on both the pop charts and the Rhythm and Blues charts! —the unique sound that shot Mirrors up through the LP charts in 1968! Dick Hyman and “The Group” is actually a trio… but you’ve never heard a trio like this. For one thing… It’s a quartet: piano, organ, bass and drums. The incredibly talented hands of Dick Hyman creating some of the most exciting piano-and-organ performances that have ever been recorded.

On Sweet Sweet Soul, Dick Hyman and “The Group” created more of that original Mirrors sound and something extra, too! A fresh, new sound, a fresh, exciting musical color created by Dick Hyman for Sweet Sweet Soul —a new kind of soul sound built on a mixture of organ and clavinette.

Here’s the exciting Dick Hyman’s versions of the big R&B hits, plus his sweet soul treatment of unforgettable standards. Old sound and new sound —it all comes out sweet, sweet soul for Dick Hyman and “The Group”.

01. House of Mirrors (Hyman-Rosengarden-Haggart) 3:23
02. In the Heat of the Night (Quincy Jones) 3:21
03. Groovin' (Cavailere-Brigati Jr.) 4:09
04. In the Wee Small Hours (Hilliard-Mann) 2:35
05. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (Joe Zawinul) 3:00
06. The Flower Road (Dick Hyman) 2:42
07. Ode to Billy Joe (Bobbie Gentry) 3:34
08. Up, Up and Away (Jimmy Webb) 2:26
09. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me (Ellington) 3:26
10. Hit the Road Jack (Percy Mayfield) 3:04
11. Week End Blues (Becker-Byrne) 3:26
12. Respect (Ottis Redding) 3:07
13. Chain of Fools (Don Covay) 3:28
14. Body and Soul (Johnny Green) 3:27
15. Sweet Sweet Soul (Becker-Byrne) 2:29
16. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out (Jimmy Cox) 2:50
17. Soul Man (Hay-Porter) 2:55
18. Tell Mama (Clarence Carter) 2:14
19. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone (Franklin-White) 2:32
20. (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay (Redding-Cropper) 2:23
21. Drop a Dime (Dick Hyman) 2:47
22. Watch It (Dick Hyman) 3:06
23. Try a Little Tenderness (Woods-Campbell-Connelly) 3:24
24. Honey Chile (May-Morris) 2:29

Tracks #1-12, from the album “Mirrors - Reflections of Today” (Command RS 924)
Tracks #13-24, from the album “Sweet Sweet, Soul” (Command RS 933)

Personnel in all tracks:
Dick Hyman, piano, organ, clavinette; Bob Haggart, bass; Bob Rosengarden, drums.
Recorded at Fine Recording Studios, New York City, 1968

Recording engineer George Piros
Photos: Norman Trigg
Art Direction: Daniel Pezza

Original recordings produced by Loren Becker and Robert Byrne
This compilation produced by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered


$11.87  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Soulful 'Mirrors' Sound! (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.