Dave McKenna

The Piano Scene of Dave McKenna: The Complete 1958 Recordings

Lone Hill Jazz

Dave McKenna (p), Osie Johnson (d), John Drew (b)

Reference: LHJ10226

One of the most underrated pianists in jazz, this release features Dave McKenna's complete July 22 & 23, 1958 New York studio recordings, which includes the complete Epic LP The Piano Sound Of Dave McKenna as well as the eight alternate takes recorded for the sessions.

These sessions mark McKenna's second release as a leader and his first in the trio format. In fact, the July 22 & 23 date with the outstanding bassist John Drew and drum giant Osie Johnson marks one of only two separate studio sessions that McKenna recorded as a leader in the classic piano trio format, making this edition all the more valuable.


01. This Is The Moment
02. Silk Stockings
03. 'Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
04. Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread)
05. Expense Account
06. Lazy
07. Splendid Splinter
08. Lickety Split
09. Along With Me
10. Secret Love
11. Da-Da-Da Go Dig-It
12. I Should Care
13. Silk Stockings (Alt. Take)
14. Expense Account (Alt. Take)
15. 'Way Down Yonder In New Orleans (Alt. Take)
16. Lickety Split (Alt. Take)
17. Secret Love (Alt. Take)
18. Da-Da-Da Go Dig-It (Alt. Take)
19. I Should Care (Alt. Take)
20. I Should Care (Alt. Take)

Contains The Complete Epic LP "The Piano Sound Of Dave McKenna" + All 8 alternate takes from "The Piano Sound Of Dave McKenna" sessions.


$16.24  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Piano Scene of Dave McKenna: The Complete 1958 Recordings
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.