Chet Baker

The Complete Original Chet Baker Sings Sessions (2 LPs on 1 CD)


Chet Baker (tp,voc), Russ Freeman (p), Carson Smith or Joe Mondragon or Jimmy Bond (b), Bob Neel or Shelly Manne or Peter Littman or Lawrence Marable (d)

Reference: 69236

Bar code: 8436028692361

This CD has been replaced by its recent reissue as part of the Phoenix label. Reference #131515

For The First Time Ever On One Edition!
Contains the complete studio albums:

- Pacific Jazz Chet Baker Sings
- Pacific Jazz Chet Baker Sings And Plays

This outstanding release contains all of Bakers earliest sessions as a vocalist, taken from five different Los Angeles studio dates between October 1953 and July 1956. These sessions include Bakers recording debut versions of such trademark vocal hits as My Funny Valentine, You Dont Know What Love Is and Lets Get Lost.

These sets showcase the delightful innocence nd naivety of Bakers vocal sound during his early twenties, at the onset of his professional career, prior to the intense physical wear and tear and emotional turmoil caused by (or exacerbated by) a long term drug habit. Twenty of the twenty four tracks included here feature Baker in a quartet setting with pianist Russ Freeman and a variety of bassists (Carson Smith, Joe Mondragon, Jimmy Bond) and drummers (Bob Neel, Shelly Manne, Peter Littman, Lawrence Marable). The CDs final four songs included here as bonus tracks feature Baker and Freeman in a quartet setting with an overdubbed string section that also boasted flautist Bud Shank and harpist Corky Hale.


01. My funny Valentine
02. But not for me
03. Time after time
04. I get along without you very well
05. There will never be another you
06. Look for the silver lining
07. I fall in love too easy
08. The thrill is gone
09. Daybreak
10. Just friends
11. I remember you
12. Let's get lost
13. Long ago and far away
14. You don't know what love is
15. That old feeling
16. It's always you
17. I've never been in love before
18. My buddy
19. Like someone in love
20. My ideal
21. This is always*
22. Someone to watch over me*
23. I wish I knew*
24. Grey december*

Total time: 78:53 min.

(*) Bonus tracks not on the original albums

Featured musicians include: Russ Freeman, Carson Smith, Joe Mondragon, Jimmy Bond, Bob Neel, Shelly Manne, Peter Littman, and Lawrence Marable.

Recorded in Los Angeles, 1953-1956


$17.75  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

The Complete Original Chet Baker Sings Sessions (2 LPs on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.